A subject guide containing detailed information about resources for this subject area
Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
The unique, three-volume Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature offers both a survey of literary themes and a collection of in-depth analyses of how these themes operate in individual literary works. Part I of this comprehensive new set contains essays on 50 prominent literary themes, with each essay describing how the theme has evolved over time, how it relates to other important themes, and why this theme is powerful enough to recur so often in great literature. Part II contains essays on specific themes in more than 300 individual classic works of literature. Each section on a particular work contains a brief introduction to the work as well as three essays on different literary themes within the work. Themes covered include alienation, coming of age, heroism, innocence and experience, race, science and technology, and more.
Welcome to the resource pages for English Studies.
These pages will guide you to information available from the library, which will help you with your research.
The new Literature Online (LION) interface is now available as a link on the current version. The switch over to the new interface will happen during 2014. The main issue for users of the current version is that My Archive accounts will not be migrated to the new interface. If your are using a My Archive account, please extract your data manually to a repository of your choosing and create a new My Archive account in the new Literature Online.
Irish Novelist, Donal Ryan wins the 2013 Guardian First Book Award with The Spinning Heart, a portrait of post-crash Ireland.