Newspapers
Newspapers are an important primary resource for historical research because they reflect our society, laws, politics etc., as it was at specific points in time, but they also contribute to knowledge of current events for media students, business students and many other subjects.
For more information on using newspapers for history, see Bates, D. (2016) Historical research using British newspapers, Barnsley: Pen & Sword Books. Copy located in Coleraine campus library at DA26.B38
|
Searching for Newspapers The Library's newspaper collections cover a range of print and online sources. The vast majority of current Newspaper titles are taken in online format only, via the Nexis database. The remaining collections are a mixture of online, print and microfilm / microform archives. The print and microform newspapers can be located via the Library Catalogue using the Title Search option and choosing Journals from the collections list. You can also select the Format filter and choose Newspaper or sometimes Microform (microfilm). Microfilm Newspaper Collections Lists of the Newspaper collections on microfilm are detailed in the Newspaper Archives Section Details of where to find the most commonly requested newspapers are available on the welcome page of this guide. Newspapers may not be borrowed from any of the campus Libraries. However you may photocopy material for personal study (within Copyright regulations). Newspapers on microform / microfilm can also only be used in the Libraries on the reader machines provided, but copies may be made to a USB memory stick. Online newspapers can be found in our Databases. |
 |
The Library subscribes to only a couple of current newspaper titles in hard copy. The following two titles have print copies for the most recent 3 months only.
Back issues of many other newspaper titles are available in bound volumes, on microform / microfilm or as part of newspaper Databases. These are listed in the Newspaper Archive section.
Most current UK, Irish and many other international newspapers are available via the Nexis database. These are updated daily.
Below are current newspaper titles available online from these separate links:
The library subscribes to other newspaper databases which do not contain up-to-date issues. Instead they provide access to back-runs of the newspaper(s). They are listed in the Newspaper Archive section.
Current Newspaper titles available from the Nexis Database
Full text searching available for a range of regional, national and international newspapers, including Belfast Telegraph, Belfast Newsletter, Irish News, The Times, Daily Telegraph, Guardian, Financial Times and The Washington Post, New York Times, in addition to a wide number of foreign language papers.
Coverage starts around 1997 (although this may vary by title). Note: Photographs and some other content is not included.
To make best use of the Nexis database, consult the help section in Nexis, containing videos and webinars. See also two videos below showing (1) how to find and search individual newspaper titles and (2) how to search through newspaper collections.
The BigProject: worldwide news in English (current news from English language newspapers)
Internet Public Library Newspaper Collection: International newspapers
Online Newspaper Directory for the World. Thousands of newspapers listed by country and region.