 |
What is a Database? A database is a searchable collection of materials - mostly journal or newspaper articles, but sometimes other types of material such as encyclopaedia entries, market research reports, financial information, etc. The Library subscribes to almost 300 separate databases and each may contain many thousands of individual sources within them. Databases allow students to search for information on a topic by (amongst others) keyword, subject, author, title, and phrase. They are a very efficient way to find relevant information. Most databases allow students to restrict their results to those of higher academic quality, e.g. from peer reviewed or scholarly sources, the contents of which have been written by experts. Full text articles are provided where available, either within the specific database or via the The Library's Information Skills Tutorial will help you identify your keywords, use search operators, truncation / wildcards and much more. |
The databases highlighted below are those useful to those studying Drama and are taken from the full list of databases available via University of Ulster Portal.
If you want to quickly find journal articles on a topic for an essay or assignment, one of the best places to start is the 
Library Discovery Tool which searches all 130,000 full-text electronic journals as well as a significant number of (but not all) major library databases.
See the video below for how to make the best use of USearch. The principles of searching are exactly the same - no matter what the topic.
BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education. It records programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels on a 30-day rolling EPG; and has a searchable archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts. You can watch entire programmes or films, make clips of sections, create your own playlist of items. Programmes are recorded as per broadcast consitions, so will include ad breaks in commercial stations, and occasionally, may also include programmes with signing for hard of hearing - although there is usually an earlier version broadcast without signing.
Click on the image below to go to the Learning on Screen training videos to help you set up, search and retrieve films and other broadcast material in Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
This video is a general introduction to the Drama Online platform
button.