Research Methods for Construction
by
The new and enhanced edition of the popular textbook on research methods in construction and related disciplines Research Methods for Construction is designed to help construction students develop the research skills needed to achieve success in their research projects. Providing clear guidance on research formulation, methodologies, and methods, this comprehensive textbook addresses the theoretical, philosophical, and practical aspects of research in many areas of construction. The authors explain the requirements for data and analysis and describe the methods used for scientific and engineering experiments, modelling and simulations, research on management and socio-economic issues, and more. Now in its fifth edition, Research Methods for Construction is fully revised to reflect contemporary developments and emerging areas of construction research. New and expanded chapters cover topics including data protection and ethics, theory borrowing, sensemaking, and directionally motivated reasoning. This edition includes additional models and details relating to translation, and offers fresh discussion of axiology, determinism, and stochasticism. Providing students with coherent, well-structured account of construction research, this market-leading textbook: Emphasizes and instils rigor into construction students' problem-solving, reports, and publications Assists researchers in selecting appropriate methods to execute research Articulates the stages of construction research processes: producing a proposal, executing the research, and reporting the results Examines qualitative and quantitative approaches and statistical considerations for a wide range of construction research Discusses current ethical, legal, and regulatory issues pertaining to research in construction The fifth edition of Research Methods for Construction is the ideal textbook for advanced undergraduate and postgraduate students embarking on a research project, at bachelors, masters or doctoral level, in construction, surveying, architecture, civil engineering, and other built environment disciplines.
Research Methods for Architecture
by
While fundamentally a design discipline, architectural education requires an element of history and theory, grouped under the term "research." However, many students struggle with this part of their course. This practical handbook provides the necessary grounding in this subject, addressing essential questions about what research in architecture can be. The first part of the book is a general guide to the fundamentals of how to do research, from assembling a literature review to conducting an interview. The second section presents a selection of case studies dealing with such topics as environmental psychology, the politics of space, ethnographic research, and mapping. The range of methods explored illustrates the variety of possible approaches, with authoritative guidance on how best to deploy a research framework.
Projects in Computing and Information Systems: a Student's Guide
by
This book is the essential guide for any student undertaking a computing/IS project, and will give you everything you need to achieve outstanding results. Undertaking a project is a key component of nearly all computing/information systems degree programmes at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels. Projects in Computing and Information Systems covers the four key aspects of project work (planning, conducting, presenting and taking the project further) in chronological fashion, and provides the reader with the skills to excel.
Introduction to Engineering Research
by
Undergraduate and first-year graduate students engaging in engineering research need more than technical skills and tools to be successful. From finding a research position and funding, to getting the mentoring needed to be successful while conducting research responsibly, to learning how to do the other aspects of research associated with project management and communication, this book provides novice researchers with the guidance they need to begin developing mastery. Awareness and deeper understanding of the broader context of research reduces barriers to success, increases capacity to contribute to a research team, and enhances ability to work both independently and collaboratively. Being prepared for what's to come and knowing the questions to ask along the way allows those entering researcher to become more comfortable engaging with not only the research itself but also their colleagues and mentors.
Writing for Engineers
by
This book is full of practical advice and useful examples to help students and engineers write clearly, accurately and impressively. This updated fourth edition features new material on technical notes, inspection reports and business cases, along with abstracts and summaries. It is an essential aid for today's engineers.
Doing Research in Urban and Regional Planning
by
Doing Research in Urban and Regional Planningprovides a basic introduction to methodology and methods in planning research. It brings together the methods most commonly used in planning, explaining their key applications and basic protocols. It addresses the unique needs of planners by dealing with concerns which cut across the social, economic, and physical sciences, showing readers how to mobilise fresh combinations of methods, theoretical frameworks and techniques to address the complex needs of urban and regional development. It includes illustrative case studies throughout to help planning students see how methods can be operationalised on the ground and connect research with urban and regional planning practice to build foundations for action. The book pays attention to contemporary trends - such as the growth in information technology, and general shifts in urban and environmental governance - that are affecting the practicalities and protocols of doing planning research. Doing Research in Urban and Regional Planningalso encourages ethical reflection and discusses the ethical issues specific to planning research. &aing planning research. Doing Research in Urban and Regional Planningalso encourages ethical reflection and discusses the ethical issues specific to planning research. Each chapter begins with a chapter outline with learning outcomes and concludes with take-home messages and suggested further readings. It also suggests a range of learning activities and discussion points for each method.
How to Write and Present Technical Information, 4th Edition
by
Thoroughly updated to discuss the use of tools such as Skype and social media, this concise volume shows how effective communication--via written text and spoken presentations--can positively impact project management in professional environments. Professional communications are the "information product" of all organizations and businesses. Based on that premise, this book offers communications strategies that will benefit any organization that disseminates technical information in-house and/or to customers. The popular work provides easy-to-understand and apply guidelines for designing and writing effective technical documents, as well as other related communications. What makes this new edition especially valuable is that it maintains the quality of information that distinguished the previous editions, but is now updated to encompass current technology and trends, including today's prevalent communication tools such as social media. The book begins by looking at skills common to all technical writing and offering general advice on designing and writing reports. Next is a discussion of specific types of reports along with common problems and issues writers face. Finally, the work overviews other forms of communications such as professional presentations. The updated material also considers the growing importance of interviews and focus groups as information-gathering tools, the influence of visual rhetoric, and the use of technologies such as Skype and webinars. Maintains the quality of information that has made this text a longtime favorite while featuring significant updates to encompass current technology Provides readers with clear guidelines for designing and writing a wide range of professional documents and associated communications Offers effective strategies for solving communications problems Includes primary source documents that illustrate the advice given
How to Write Your Literature Review
by
This engaging guide by bestselling author Bryan Greetham takes students step-by-step through the process of writing a literature review, and equips them with practical strategies to help them navigate each stage. Each bite-sized chapter focuses on a specific aspect of the process, from generating ideas and pinning down the research problem through to searching for sources, citing references and planning, writing and editing the review. Chapters feature examples and exercises to help students apply ideas to their own work. Whether your students are writing a stand-alone review or one that is part of a dissertation or thesis, this guide is their essential companion.
Research design: qualitative, quantitative, and mixed method approaches
by
Writing the Literature Review
by
This accessible text provides a roadmap for producing a high-quality literature review--an integral part of a successful thesis, dissertation, term paper, or grant proposal. Each step of searching for, evaluating, analyzing, and synthesizing prior studies is clearly explained and accompanied by user-friendly suggestions, organizational tips, vignettes, and examples of student work. Also featured are excerpts from peer-reviewed quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods articles. This is the first book to focus on crafting different types of reviews (systematic, traditional-narrative, or hermeneutic-phenomenological) that reflect the writer's research question, methodological choices, and approaches to knowledge. It describes what all reviews have in common and highlights distinct characteristics of each type. The book includes dos and don'ts for evaluating studies and constructing an argument, and software suggestions for locating, organizing, and arranging sources. Pedagogical Features *Checklists and "To Do" activities that break down key steps to take. *Boxed examples, graphics that organize and visually illustrate key concepts, and summary tables. *Group activities that invite students to further explore and apply the methods discussed in each chapter. *Detailed directions for using four different organizing strategies: synthesis matrix, summary table, mapping, and topic outline. *End-of-chapter summaries and "What's Next" sections. *Assessment matrices for reviewing and refining the completed literature review. Winner (First Place)--American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award, Nursing Research Category
An Introduction to Qualitative Research
by
The definitive guide to the full qualitative research process, from design to dissemination, this is everything you need to understand how good quality research is produced, and how to use and enrich your own work with it. New to this edition: - A new structure follows the research process step-by-step - Brand new chapter on digital methods and social media data explores cutting-edge research - Multi-disciplinary case studies give you real research examples whatever your subject - Focused reading exercises help you explore the literature and build a better bibliography - Integrated online resources, to master the key concepts, discover real research and track your progress An Introduction to Qualitative Research has everything a social science student needs to understand and explore the richness of qualitative research.
Doing a literature review in health and social care: a practical guide
by
Sage Research Methods is a database that supports researchers at all levels by providing material and tools to guide users through every step of the research process. This includes a comprehensive methods library with 1000+ books, reference works, journal articles & instructional video on topics such as; the research question, carrying out a literature review, selecting research methods, data collection and analysis, writing up and much more.
