 |
What is a Database? A database is a searchable collection of materials - mostly journal or newspaper articles, but sometimes other types of material such as encyclopaedia entries, market research reports, financial information, etc. The Library subscribes to almost 300 separate databases and each may contain many thousands of individual sources within them. Databases allow students to search for information on a topic by (amongst others) keyword, subject, author, title, and phrase. They are a very efficient way to find relevant information. Most databases allow students to restrict their results to those of higher academic quality, e.g. from peer reviewed or scholarly sources, the contents of which have been written by experts. Full text articles are provided where available, either within the specific database or via the The Library's Information Skills Tutorial will help you identify your keywords, use search operators, truncation / wildcards and much more. |
|
A database is a collection of information (e.g. journal articles, references to book chapters, newspaper articles, directives, full-text patents) which you can search in a number of ways such as by keyword, author, title. |
While you may find much information in the design and development of games in the Arts and Design databases, you may also want access to research with a computing and technology focus as well. Below are some key databases. There are others and you might want to check the Subject Guides from Computing for more details.
If you need to find research on Games Design from a business point of view, or you want more information on moving from design concept to creating a product, setting up a company, getting market research, or obtaining statistical information to support your business plan, take a look at the databases below.
USearch is the Library's Discovery tool. It is not a "Database" but it allows us to search through a large number (but not all) of our subject databases at the same time, return results and provide links to the full-text, where available.
It is an excellent source for quick searches or scoping searches.
button.