Library Guides: Veterinary: Databases

What is a database?

A database is a collection of information (e.g. journal articles, references to book chapters, newspaper articles, directives, full-text patents) which you can search in a number of ways such as by keyword, author, title.

They are very useful for finding information on specific topics for your assignments and dissertations.

Go to Advanced Search Tips for a guide to searching selected databases more effectively.

Go to Connecting search terms with AND, OR, NOT for a guide to combining search terms using Boolean logic functions.

Search Strategy Worksheet

Search Strategy Worksheet (Blank)

How to Access Library Databases

How to access the Library Databases Video

Core databases for business, management and finance are listed below. Find useful websites on the Individual Business Subjects pages.

ABI Inform Collection
Access to thousands of academic and professional business journals as well as a large collection of full-text market reports, economic working papers and case studies. Look out, too, for the handy Charting Economies reports available through ABI/Inform for a huge number of countries - perfect for research on developing the export market or geographical PESTEL analysis. Find them by entering charting [country name] on the main search page.
Business Source Ultimate
A major business resource, providing historical information and current trends. In addition to peer-reviewed full-text journals, it includes case studies, country economic reports and company profiles, plus interviews with executives and analysts.
FT.com
Coverage of UK/international business, finance, economic & political news as well as comment/analysis from leading journalists and insight into management trends and new developments. Gives access to the current edition and 8-year archive.
Registration required on first use.
Scopus
Multidisciplinary resource covering a wide range of topics such as: building, engineering, computing, business, economics and the social sciences.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering, sciences, technology and the social sciences.
USearch
Ulster Library's Discovery service. Content includes the majority of our full text journal collections.

Our Commercial Awareness databases are full of information on company performance, markets and global economic conditions. Use them alongside our core databases for a well-rounded assignment.

Fame
The primary database for financial information on UK and ROI companies, containing the financial returns of all registered companies. Allows users to view useful company snapshots and examine segments within particular sectors.
IBISWorld
IBISWorld provides instant access to performance data, analysis and forecasts for hundreds of UK industries, plus ROI and Global Industry Reports. Each entry includes a SWOT analysis.
Mintel Reports Academic
Full-text access to marketing information covering both Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland. Also access to over 500 full-text UK market reports including the food and drink sector & Travel and Tourism Reports.
Passport
Provides extensive international statistics, market reports, company profiles and other information sources for consumer markets in 210 countries.
Free registration is required on first access.
Statista
Statista provides international statistics, forecast data and industry reports with access to over 1 million+ statistics & facts for 170 industries from 50 countries.
Free registration is required upon first access.

USearch

Looking for a few journal articles to get your research started? USearch is a great place to start.

Databases for Biosciences

Guides

See also Evidence based Practice Library guide.

Guides

Highly Recommended Databases

PubMed

PubMed is the US National Library of Medicine's information portal. It is a very good source of reliable scholarly, academic material such as journal articles, theses and reports. It will link to freely available material where available but you may be asked to pay for full text.

Looking for help on how to get the best out of PubMed? Take a look at the PubMed user guide.

If you really must Google, use Scholar!

To make the best use of Google, we recommend using Google Scholar. This limits results to higher quality academic resources; such as peer reviewed journals and research papers.

Looking for help on how to get the best out of Google Scholar? Take a look at Google Scholar's Search Tips.

Want to check if our Library can provide full text from Scholar? Follow these steps:

Click on the Google Menu icon in the top left corner of the screen:

Next click on the Google Settings icon, .

Select Library Links and search for ulster university.

Save the preferences displayed. This way, you will see links to full text within our electronic journals collection in your searches.

Need help looking for information?

If you need help searching for information or using any of the Library's databases please do contact a member of the Subject Librarian team.

Two people reading brochures in Ulster University