English Studies: General databases for AHSS Research

Cross disciplinary collection of articles, some free or open access. Check the Library Electronic Journals to confirm whether or not the Library subscribes to a particular journal.

JSTOR is a multidisciplinary database providing articles from journals in Arts and Humanities, Life and Health sciences, Business, and other disciplines with a good coverage of material relating to Ireland and a collection of digitised nineteenth century British pamphlets.

Nexis is an online service for news and research in current affairs and modern history. Search for content from 40,000 publications. Find company, demographic, and country information, choose from a variety of newspaper archives up to 30 years and stay up-to-date through News Alerts.

This database contains all Oxford Reference titles including, The Oxford Dictionary of Law; The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Media & Communication. The range of subjects covered includes history, linguistics, language, social science, art, architecture, philosophy and culture.

Proquest Complete is a collection of Proquest databases covering arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology. Including collections on art, design and architecture, North American and British literature, drama, history, film, social sciences and technology. Among the 39 collections are Social Science Premium, British Humanities Index, Thesis & Dissertations and Historical Newspapers.

Abstract & citation database with 19,000+ titles from 5,000+ publishers. A quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support research needs in the scientific, technical, medical & social sciences fields and, more recently, the arts and humanities.

Web of Science provides access to the world's leading citation databases. Multidisciplinary content covers 10,000+ of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and 110,000+ conference proceedings, from 1900.