A range of online reference works is now available from the Databases page. These include:
| A Dictionary of Celtic Mythology | From Oxford Reference Online Premium |
| The Concise Oxford Companion to Irish Literature | From Oxford Reference Online Premium |
| A Dictionary of British Place-names | From Oxford Reference Online Premium |
| The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography | 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000. |
| Dictionary of Irish Biography |
Reference books are for use in the Library only and and are shelved on the left side of the top floor.
The following is a selection of reference books which may be of interest:
| Reference CS2375.I7O36 | Irish names, by D. Ó Corráin and F. Maguire |
| Reference DA979 | Ainmneacha Gaeilge na mBailte Poist |
| Reference DA979.R6 | A dictionary of Irish place-names, by A. Room |
| Reference PB1227.O26 | An ráleabhar Gaeilge, le D. Ó Donnahadha |
| Reference PB1227.O78 | Díolain d'abairtí dúchasacha, le M. Ó Ruairc |
| Reference PB1289.F622 | An foclóir beag. Gaeilge-Gaeilge |
| Reference PB1289.F625 | Foclóir póca. English-Irish / Irish-English dictionary |
| Reference PB1289.F628 | Foclóir scoile. English-Irish / Irish-English dictionary |
| Reference PB1289.O85 | Learner's English Irish dictionary, compiled by An Seabhac |
| Reference PB1291.C65 | Collins pocket Irish dictionary, by S. Mac Mathúna and A. Ó Corráin |
| Reference PB1291.D5 | Dictionary of the Irish language: compact edition. Royal Irish Academy |
| Reference PB1291.O2 | Irish-English dictionary, by J. O'Brien |
| Reference PB1295.D4 | An cabhsa..., le T. DeBhial |
| Reference PB1295.O36 | Gaoth an fhocail, le B. Ó Doibhlin |
| Reference PB1298.D6L83 | Cnuasach focal as Ros Goill, le L. U. Lúcás |
| Reference PB1317.O24 | Scríbhneoirí na Gaeilge 1945-1995, le S Ó Cearnaigh |
| Reference PR870.6 | The Macmillan dictionary of Irish literature; ed. R. Hogan |
| Reference PR8706.O92 | The Oxford companion to Irish literature; ed. R. Welch |
| Reference QC863.4.L28 | An aimsir, le E. Lawrence & B. van Loon |
| Reference QH13.U25 | Dúlra Duibhneach, le P. Ua Maoileoin |
| Reference QK475.6.F67 | Crainn, le P. Forey |
| Reference QL354.A55 | Ainmneacha plandaí agus aimnhithe |
| Reference QL674.L24 | Éin, le M. Lambert agus A. Pearson |
| Reference QL705.L28 | Mamaigh, le E. Lawrence agus R. Lindsay |
| Reference ZDA905.M25 | Manuscript sources for the history of Irish civilisation; ed. R. Hayes |
| Reference ZDA925 | Modern Ireland: a bibliography..., by M. O. Shannon |
| Reference ZPB1013.S35 | Celtic studies in the Netherlands, by M. Schneiders and K. Veelenturf |
| Reference ZPB1298.U5S55 | Oidhreacht Oirghiall, by P. Smith |
| Reference ZPB1306 | Clár litridheacht na nua-Ghaedhilge, le R. de Hae & B. Ní Dhonnchadha |
| Reference ZPB1325.M23 | A reader's guide to books in the Irish language, by S McCloskey |
| Reference ZPB1399.MG84M36 | Seosamh Mac Grianna..., le N. Mac Congáil |
The Library has a comprehensive range of dictionaries in the reference collection.
A selection of dictionaries is also shelved in the Short-loan room.
Irish, Welsh, Scots Gaelic and Breton language dictionaries, including applied language dictionaries appear in the catalogue with the prefix Reference PB in the classmark e.g. Reference PB1295.D4. Other reference material is listed on this page and includes books on language, history, literature and culture, religion, place names, biographies, bibliographies, archives and genealogy.
Much of the Coleraine holdings on Irish, Ulster Scots and Celtic Studies have now been transferred to the Derry~Londonderry (Magee) campus to support teaching and research there.
|
Magee Library has a collection of historical documents relating to Great Britain and Ireland. These are mostly housed in the Special Collections Room on the ground floor.. Examples are listed below |
||
| RS96 | Historical and municipal documents of Ireland | |
| RS96 | Historical Manuscript Commission | |
| RS97 | Statute rolls of the parliament of Ireland...Henry VI | |
| Hiberniae leges et institutiones antique : ancient laws and institutes of Ireland series. |
||
|
16th and 17th century Calendar of state papers relating to England Scotland and Ireland |
||
| The Irish papers are: | ||
| Calendar of documents. Ireland | 1171-1301 & 1586-1588 | |
| Calendar of state papers. Ireland | 1509-1670 | |
| Calendar of state papers. Carew Mss | 1575-1624 | |
| Calendar of state papers. Ireland. Adventures for land | 1642-1569 | |
| Statutes of United Parliament | (1802-1826) | |
| Irish Collection
Facsimiles and edited reprints of many original documents are housed here. Access to the Collection is restricted to staff. The Keyword facility on the Library Catalogue will help you locate material. Below is a brief selection of some materials available in this resource. |
||
| Indexes to Irish wills / Thrift |
I Irish Collection CS482.P6
|
|
| Calendar of the Irish patent rolls of James I |
0 Irish Collection DA905.I757
|
|
| Register of Derry Cathredral (S. Columb's) 1642 - 1703 |
|
|
| The Inchiquin manuscripts |
|
|
| The Kenmare manuscripts |
Irish Collection CS499.K46K46
|
|
| Records of the General Synod of Ulster 1691 - 1820 | I BX9061.U46P92 | |
| Annals of Ireland | I DA930 | |
| Calendar of ancient records of Dublin | CD1118.D8G46 | |
| Census reports for Ireland, Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland | I HA1142 -1147 | |
| Leabhar Breac. Facsimile published 1876 | OI PB1397.L4 | |
| Presbyterian Church in Ireland. General Assembly minutes | ||
| Irish House of Commons Journals 1613-1800 | ||
| Irish House of Lords Journals 1727-1776 | ||
| Other items | ||
| Belfast Trades Council | 8 reels microfilm | |
| Carte Papers Calendars | Microfilm | |
| Dublin Trades Council MSS 12778-12780; 12780a; 12781-12785 | Microfilm | |
| Justice/Social Democrat 1884-1914 | Microfilm | |
| Red Cross Archive | Enquiries to AHSS subject team librarian | |
| William O'Brien papers | Microfilm | |
Bibliographies come in many shapes and sizes. They can be lists of publications by one author, or on one subject, or of one country; they can be one-off publications or serial publications. They are useful because they can, for example, enable you to trace books and articles published on a particular subject or by a particular author. Once you have found a bibliographical reference to a work, there is an excellent possibility you will be able to gain access to the publication itself.
Bibliographies have shelf numbers which begin with the letter Z. A bibliography of the works of an individual, or works about an individual, can usually be found by doing an Keyword search on the Library Catalogue. Other subject or topic searches for bibliographies can also be found by a Keyword search.
Examples of bibliographies are: