Finding Ulster Scots Books at the Library
Ulster Scots books are found mainly in the Coleraine and Magee campus libraries on the open shelves although individual items may be held within Special Collections.
There is no separate location for Ulster Scots material. History, for example, will be in DA; but language will be in PE
However the Library Catalogue keyword search will help you locate books. E.g., you can search for Ulster Scot, or Scotch Irish, or Ullans, or minority language, or Robert Burns, or whatever aspect you are interested in.
You may search a particular campus or across all campuses.
When you are browsing the shelves, you will notice that some books have different prefixes, indicating where different types of books are shelved. Here are some of the prefixes that you will notice.
|
|
Reference material is for use in the Library only and is located on the first floor on the left hand side. Here are some useful titles:
|
Shelfmark |
Topic |
|
REF CS483 |
Irish and Scotch-Irish ancestral research |
|
REF CS2415.D32 |
Irish family names |
|
REF CS2435.B64 |
The surnames of Scotland |
|
REF DA28.D4 |
Dictionary of national biography |
|
REF DA757.9.O85 |
The Oxford companion to Scottish history |
|
REF DA990. U45L28 |
The cultural traditions dictionary |
|
REF DA990.U45M2 |
A dictionary of Ulster placenames |
|
REF DA990.U452A12 |
Dictionary of Ulster biography |
|
REF DA938.D64 |
A chronology of Irish history since 1500 |
|
REF DA957.9.D65 |
A dictionary of Scottish history |
|
REF G1831.F7M5 |
A new genealogical atlas of Ireland |
|
REF GN316.W67 |
Worldmark encyclopedia of culture and daily life |
|
REF NX120.N67C87 |
Cultural directory for Northern Ireland 1999/2000 |
|
REF PE2106.C65 |
Concise English-Scots dictionary |
|
REF PE2106.C66 |
Concise Scots dictionary |
|
REF PE2106.S244 |
Scots-English English--Scots dictionary |
|
REF PE2106.S25 |
Scots school dictionary |
|
REF PE2106.S26 |
Scots thesaurus |
|
REF PE2106.S4 |
The Scottish national dictionary |
|
REF PE2116.C7 |
Dictionary of the older Scottish tongue |
|
REF PE2432.F45 |
The Hamely tongue |
|
REF ZDA760.E87 |
Exploring Scottish history |
|
REF ZE184.I6 |
The Irish-American experience: a guide to the literature |
|
REF ZF1035.I6N67 |
Northern Ireland and Canada: a guide to Northern Ireland sources for the study of Canadian history |
Reference books in Coleraine are located in Reading Room 2.
Reference books have a REF prefix and cannot be used outside of the Library. Here are some shelf numbers (shelfmarks) to get you started.
|
Topic |
|
|
REF CD1100.C65 |
Pathways to Ulster's past : sources and resources for local studies |
|
REF CS464.R28 2005 |
Scottish family history on the web : a directory |
|
REF CS2435.B64 |
The Surnames of Scotland : their origin, meaning and history |
|
REF CT793.D48 |
Dictionary of Ulster biography |
|
REF DA910.H51 |
A chronology of Irish history since 1500 |
|
REF DA979.R66 |
A dictionary of Irish place-names |
|
REF DA979.F53 |
Irish place names |
|
REF G1831.F7M5 |
A new genealogical atlas of Ireland |
|
REF G1811.S1P4 |
The Penguin atlas of British & Irish history |
|
REF PE2106.J36 |
Dictionary of the Scottish language |
|
REF PE2106.S4 |
The Scottish national dictionary |
|
REF PE2588.C63 |
A concise Ulster dictionary |
|
REF PE2587.Y66 |
You don't say? : the Tyrone Crystal book of Ulster dialect |
|
REF PE2586.T63 |
Words apart : a dictionary of Northern Ireland English |
|
REF PE2432.F35 |
The Hamely tongue : a personal record of Ulster-Scots in County Antrim |