Skip to Main Content

Finding and Using eBooks: Home

Introduction to eBook use

The library provides access to eBooks in two main ways:

  • Individual eBooks which are accessed via the library catalogue.
  • eBooks which are part of a specific subject collection or database.  These ebooks are not usually listed in the library catalogue and must be searched for and accessed separately in the individual host database.  Information on these subject collections is given in the eBook Collections in Databases section.

    Depending on the publisher licence, some eBooks allow multiple users but others limit access to just one viewer at a time.  If you are trying to access an ebook and you get an "in use" message, you will need to try again later.

    All of the books in the library catalogue can be read online.  Some of them can also be downloaded for a limited time period for use offline, but if you have a reliable internet connection, the read online option is preferable.
 undefined

Why use E-books

There are a number of benefits to using ebooks:

  • With remote access, ebooks are there when you need them; not just in library opening hours.
  • Full text searching helps save you time when looking for relevant sections, passages and quotes.
  • Multiple ebooks are easier to carry around when they are stored on your laptop, tablet, ereader, or phone.

Using eBooks on different devices

In general:

to read eBooks, you will need:

  • to have access to the internet to read eBooks in an online reader, although you can also download some eBooks for offline reading
  • an up-to-date internet browser, such as Microsoft Edge, Chrome or Firefox.
  • an up-to-date version of Adobe Reader, as most e-Books use pdf files (this is the format in which the book is displayed). If you do not have this you can download it for free.

to download eBooks, you will need:

In order to use any of these download services you will need to create an Adobe ID and enter it when instructed.

How many people can access ebooks at the same time?

There are a variety of e-book licences:

1 user - only one person can access the ebook at  a time

 undefined
3 User - up to 3 people may use the book at the same time undefined
Unlimited access - there is no limit to the number of people who can use the ebook simultaneously undefined
If a book is very much in demand (and an unlimited licence is not available), we may purchase more than one copy of an ebook undefined

If you are trying to access an ebook and you get an "in use" message, it just means that the maximum number of simultaneous users has been reached. Just try again later. If you are finished with an ebook, please remember to log out so that others can have access.

For Help

If you are struggling with anything relating to ebook access or content, you can contact your subject librarian, who will be happy to assist you.