Cultural Heritage & Museum Studies: Web Links

This is the home page of Heritage; the JISCmail discussion list for academic and industry researchers investigating all aspects of heritage, tourism, museum and cultural management. The list is a forum for sharing experiences and exchanging information.

The Association's website will be of use to researchers interested in cultural studies and heritage issues. Details of membership, forthcoming events, and other resources available from the Association are on the website. A news section provides articles surrounding heritage-interpretation subjects and the events area includes information about events and conferences. A directory of heritage interpretation consultants is also provided. This website offers an unusual perspective on heritage sites with the varying demands of the public, academic community and the preservation of the sites and artefacts themselves

The Council of Europe is responsible for promoting and preserving the natural, historic and architectural heritage of the member states. The website provides information on the activities of the Directorate of Culture, Cultural and Natural Heritage: projects, resolutions, campaigns, educational initiatives, etc. The site contains information on the texts of Conventions, Resolutions and Recommendations of the Council of Europe. Other topics covered include: diversity; dialogue; sustainable developments; convention monitoring; policy monitoring and development; regional co-operation; and awareness raising.

Links to resources relating to the conservation of cultural heritage, restoration and maintenance of architecture, and preservation of the urban landscape. Brief descriptions accompany each resource.

This body is responsible for the protection of the historic environment (buildings and sites) and for promoting public understanding of it. This site includes descriptions of education services, grants, conservation and research activities

This site provides information on heritage policies and cultural resource management in Europe and surrounding regions. There is a comprehensive series of Internet links, grouped by region, theme and website type, covering the diverse structures of heritage management strategies within the member states of the Council of Europe. The resource also provides useful background information on the history and aims of the heritage policies pursued by the Council of Europe since its foundation in 1949.

This statutory body based in the Republic of Ireland is responsible for the identification, protection, preservation and promotion of all aspects of national heritage. The searchable site also includes full text of their publications and press releases.

An international centre which aims to create or improve conditions for the effective conservation of cultural heritage resources worldwide.

The NPO, established by the British Library in 1984, is an independent body charged with raising awareness of preservation issues facing libraries, archives and museums and supporting the preservation of cultural heritage materials held within the cultural institutions of the UK and Ireland. It offers a range of services, covering assessment, consultancy and information provision, advising on disaster planning, preservation management and collection care.

This UK Government department is responsible for policy on the arts, sport and recreation, and its work with the National Lottery, libraries, museums and galleries, broadcasting and film, press freedom and regulation, the built heritage, the royal estate and tourism.

World Heritage is a UNESCO programme established in 1972 with the aim of preserving cultural property and making it accessible. The web site highlights preservation efforts in more than 100 countries, and includes full details of World Heritage sites.

Founded in 1965 and based in New York, this organisation is concerned with the preservation of art and architecture. It works worldwide, promoting onsite conservation of cultural landmarks and art. The web site lists the 100 most endangered sites, via a clickable map. It also provides links to other conservation resources and information on The Jewish Heritage Program, current projects, publications and events.

This is a partnership of public and private institutions which care for the cultural landscapes of their regions across Europe through scientific research, communication and sustainable management. The creation of a common forum for discussion and co-operation is funded by the programme Culture 2000 of the European Union.

This Canadian firm defines 'informatics' as: "The interdisciplinary study of information content, representation, technology and applications and the methods and strategies by which information is used in organisations, networks, cultures and societies". As well as consultancy, publishing and training, they organise conferences (Museums and the Web; ICHIM : International Cultural Heritage Informatics Meeting; Electronic Records Research Meetings) and the site contains details of these and links to their websites. Full-text articles and papers on the management and provision of access to cultural heritage information are also available. All of the organisation's publications, including conference proceedings, can be ordered from this site, and there are links to further journal articles on the Web. There is also a mailing list which users may join for free.

This is the official guide to the historic buildings, parks and gardens in the care of the Irish Government together with an outline of the various cultural and heritage bodies such as museums, libraries and performance venues which conserve and promote Irish cultural heritage. The content is divided according to the Irish counties, with maps also available. There is a page of links to other Irish government bodies responsible for national heritage. While largely aimed at the general public will also interest professional archaeologists, historians and heritage managers.

Formed in 1999 for professionals and volunteers in heritage interpretation in Scotland, this organisation provides advice and information relating to the provision of visitor information in museums, tourist attractions and visitor centres at natural, historical and cultural sites. An archive of "Interpret Scotland", the organisation's journal, provides PDF downloads of articles and research summaries going back to spring 2000, covering a range of topics including visitor studies, guiding, the marketing, management and development of visitor attractions, events and exhibitions. There is also a vacancies section, and events calendar for training and seminars.

This is the Web version of the independent, peer reviewed journal, which has been published three times a year since 2003. Free online access is provided to full-text articles (downloaded as PDF files) on museum studies, public culture and heritage studies. The journal is international in coverage, and articles are written by academics and museum professionals, to discuss such issues as the changing social and political role of museums within society. A table of contents is provided to all articles.

This museum has four sites, three in Dublin and one in County Mayo. The website provides information about all four: Decorative Arts and History; Archaeology and History; Natural History; and Country Life. There is also information on the services provided by the museum. These include guided tours, public lectures, weekend events, workshops and demonstrations, education resource rooms, and an information and resource service.

This UK based group promotes the core function that museums and galleries play in formal and informal learning, and provides a support network for the exchange of information, ideas and research. The website contains details on activities, publications, conferences and training, as well as web links to resources on education in museums.

This initiative has been developed and is managed by the Museums, Archives and Libraries Council (MLA). There are four key principles: the provision of effective opportunities for people, the creation of inspiring and accessible learning environments, the implementation of policies, plans and performance at the heart of museums, archives and libraries and the building of creative learning partnerships. The website provides a step-by-step framework that museums, archives and libraries can use in order to achieve best practice when improving and supporting the learning environment.

Based at the University of Leicester, the vision for RCMG is to carry out research that can inform and enrich creative museum thinking, policy and practice.

This body helps to develop standards and best practices, gathering and sharing knowledge, and providing advocacy on issues of concern to the entire museum community.

This government department is responsible for all areas of policy relating to the Arts, sport, recreation, libraries, museums, art galleries, freedom of the press and tourism. Its website contains information on the function of the Department, the full-text of its most recent annual report and some recent reports prepared by working groups dealing with specific issues relating to culture, media or sport.

This is a non-governmental organisation with formal links to UNESCO, dedicated to the development of museums and the museum profession. It provides information and guidelines relating to heritage conservation, and promotes awareness of museums. The ICOM website explains the remit of the organisation, and provides news, policy documents, and museum directories. Recent press releases may be read online, and a calendar of ICOM meetings and events publicises forthcoming activities.

This is the professional body for those working in galleries and museums. This website provides information on a host of related issues including low pay, management, the illicit trade in antiquities, the role of museums in education and diversity within the workforce. Career profiles of those in the profession are offered, a code of ethics and within the market analysis section, a financial overview. Occasional articles from Museum Practice are available, however access to the archive requires a subscription.

This is the official archive of the UK governemet. Since October 2011 is has taken over many of the functions of the ceased Museums, Libraries and Archives Council (MLA) in conjunction with the Arts Council England.

This body has the statutory responsibility to care for and develop collections and promote their use by the public.

This covers the national museums and galleries in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, the three national libraries, and the National Archives. The site contains information about NMDC activities, projects, resources, members and events. Activities and projects are arranged into priority areas, including: valuing museums, creative engagement, national dilemmas, international affairs, learning & access, leadership, museum disposal and loans.

The aim of this body is to support museums in Northern Ireland in maintaining and improving their standards of collections care and service to the public