Bibliographies are useful because they can, for example, enable you to trace books and articles published on a particular subject or by a particular author. Once you have found a bibliographical reference to a work, there is an excellent possibility you will be able to gain access to the publication itself.
Bibliographies come in many shapes and sizes. They can be lists of publications by one author, or on one subject, or of one country; they can be one-off publications or serial publications.
Examples of Bibliographies are:
|
The British film catalogue, 1895-1985 British official films in the Second World War : a descriptive catalogue Motion picture directors : a bibliography of magazine and periodical articles, 1900-1972 |
Magee Library
Bibliographies in Magee are shelved in the Reference Section on the First Floor. Their shelf numbers all begin REF Z
Coleraine Library
Bibliographies have shelf numbers which begin with the letter Z and are located in Reading Room 2.
Jordanstown Library
Bibliographies in Jordanstown are shelved in the Reference Section on the first floor. Their shelf numbers all begin 016.
A range of reference works is now available from the Databases page. These can be accessed from the Portal, Learning Resources page, from the databases list. A password will not be required to use these if they are accessed from the Portal.
Oxford Reference Online Premium is a particularly useful resource with a range of reference works available online.
Online reference titles include:
The following table contains a selection of works relevant to Cinematic Arts and Film Studies - click on the titles for more details.
Magee Library
Reference books (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, directories etc.) are housed on the top floor. They are for Library use only. In the Library catalogue, shelfmarks for reference books appear with the word Reference as a prefix, e.g. Reference PN1992.1.F52.
Coleraine Library
The Library has a range of reference works located in the reference collection in Reading Room 2. Reference works are for use in the Library only. In the Library catalogue, shelfmarks for reference books appear with the word Reference as a prefix, e.g. Reference PN1992.1.F52.
Jordanstown Library
Bibliographies in Jordanstown are shelved in the Reference Section on the first floor. Their shelf numbers all begin 016.