The library provides access to eBooks in two main ways:
Go to the Library Catalogue and search for books in the usual way, using keywords, title and/or author.
From the Results screen, click on the eBooks link in the Refine Your Search column to limit your results to those available in eBook format. This column is displayed on the left side of the screen.
From the results provided choose the book you want to read and click on the title. As with print books we often retain more than one edition of an eBook. Always choose the most recent edition but, if it is in use by another user, you may be able to use an earlier edition.
Select the Click here to read this e-book link. The name of the supplier may also be included in the link.
Clicking on that link will then open a new window which will vary depending on the supplier.
This short video will show you how to find and access an eBook from the Library Catalogue.
Many of the eBooks in the Library Catalogue are made available through Proquest eBook Central.
Depending on the publisher licence, some eBooks allow multiple users but others limit access to just one viewer at a time. If you are trying to access an eBook and you get an "in use" message, you will need to try again later.
Almost all of the books in the Library Catalogue can be read online. Some of them can also be downloaded for a limited time period for use offline.
Information on using the online reader is available here.
Information on downloading is available here. Please note, our Proquest eBooks can only be downloaded for a maximum of one day at a time.
Details about accessibility features on ProQuest Ebook Central can be found here.
The Library subscribes to a large number of eBook collections in many subject areas. You can access these databases by clicking on the links below or by going to the Library homepage and selecting the "Databases" link from the Quick Links area. Then scroll to the relevant database from there.
The following will be of relevance to Life and Health Sciences students.
| Database | |||
Why look here?
ClinicalKey Student Foundations provides access to the latest eBook editions of titles such as Aulton's Pharmaceutics, Rang & Dale's Pharmacology, Gray's Anatomy, Basic Immunology: Functions and Disorders of the Immune System, Mims' Medical Microbiology and Immunology and Clinical Procedures in Primary Eye Care.
ClinicalKey Student Nursing provides access to the latest eBook editions of titles such as Applying the Roper-Logan-Tierney Model in Practice, Burns and Grove's the Practice of Nursing Research and Interpersonal Relationships: Professional Communication Skills for Nurses. When logged into one of the two ClinicalKey databases, select Study Resources, then Books (under Quick Actions); search by title or use the alphabet on the left to search under first letter of a title, alternatively select a topic from the left under specialties.
LWW Health Library provides the most recent edition of Bate's Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking.