Library Guides: Statistics, Standards, Patents and Contracts: Standards and Patents

Standards

Core Standards
International

British Standards - BSOL
Contains current, draft and historic British Standards, Eurocodes and BS adoptions of European and International standards.
Eurocodes are 10 agreed standards for the design of buildings and civil engineering structures adopted by all EU Member States. Search using the BS EN number or keywords.

British Standards Online (BSOL) have changed the way you download PDF documents of standards from their database. BSOL will no longer download and open files in your web browser. For details visit the information page,

List of Eurocodes and BS EN numbers
IEEE- technical standards
Full text database that includes more than 6,000 technical IEEE standards covering engineering, computing and technology.
Construction Information Service
The Construction Information Service provides instant full-text access to current regulations, British Standards, Eurocodes, technical advice and a vast array of related news and briefings.

ASTM Compass
Access over 13,000 full text up-to-date American Society for Testing of Materials Standards, as well as journal articles, technical reports and much more.
ISO - International Organization for Standardization
Any ISO standards adopted by BSOL will be available through that database. Use the Document Delivery service to order if not available in BSOL.
NSAI - National Standards Authority of Ireland
Full text of standards are not available to Ulster University. Use the Document Delivery service to order copies.
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) Codes & Standards
NFPA publishes more than 300 consensus codes and standards intended to minimize the possibility and effects of fire and other risk. Access to the standards on registration to the site.
AISC (American Institute of Steel Construction) Current Standards
All of AISC's current standards are available as free downloads to the public in PDF format.
International Cost Management Standard (ICMS)
Since publication of the first edition in July 2017, the International Construction Management Standard (ICMS) have provided a single methodology for reporting, grouping and classifying construction project costs.

Websites

Patents

Espacenet
Index to more than 90 million patent documents worldwide from 1836 onwards. Full-text access to British patents from 1859.
European Patents Office
Google Patents
Google Patents includes over 120 million patent publications from 100+ patent offices around the world.
Intellectual Property Office (IPO)
The Intellectual Property Office (IPO) is the official UK government body responsible for intellectual property (IP) rights including patents, designs, trade marks and copyright.
Intellectual Property Office of Ireland
The Intellectual Property Office of Ireland is the official Irish government body responsible for intellectual property (IP) rights including patents, designs, trade marks and copyright.
Patentscope
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) patent database.
UK PatLib Network
The UK Patent Library Network provide users with local access to patent, trade mark, designs and copyright information
USPTO - United States Patent and Trademark Office
PDF images for all USA patents from 1790 onwards.

Statistics, Standards, Patents and Contracts: Standards and Patents

What is a standard?

Standards

Websites

Patents