Library Guides: Computing, Engineering and Intelligent Systems: Books

Finding print books and eBooks in the Library Catalogue

The Library Catalogue is the best place to start searching for books and ebooks.

You can request or reserve books from any campus, whether they are on loan or not, using the "Reserve this item" button in in the Library catalogue ( two day loan and part-time loan material is excluded).

Where are the books shelved?

Here are some shelf numbers (shelfmarks) to get you started. However, you should always check the Library catalogue for specific shelf numbers, as books are not always where you might expect.

	Magee	Jordanstown
Artificial Intelligence	Q334-Q341	006.3
Computer Science	QA71-QA76	004
Computer architecture	QA76.9.A73	004.22
Communication and networks	TK5105	004.6
Operating Systems	QA.76.76.O63	005.43
Web Programming	QA76.625	006.76
Mathematics	QA1-QA939	510
Health Informatics	R856-R859	610.28
Engineering (General)	TA	620
Manufacturing	TS	670
Wireless Communications	TK5103.2	621.38456
Management Information Systems	HF5548.2	658.4038011

How many books can I borrow?

Students can borrow 12 two month loans; 4 two week loans; 4 two day loans.
Staff can borrow 25 two month loans; 4 two week loans; 4 two day loans.

Two month and two week loan items can be renewed twice.

Contact Us for more information about borrowing, renewing and fines for late returns.

Reading Lists

Why not check to see if your reading list is available online?
Search by module title, module code or lecturer.

Reading Lists

e-Book Collections

Ebook Central
Multidisciplinary full text eBook collection.
Bloomsbury Architectural Library
Collection of resources to support the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design. Includes Sir Banister Fletcher’s Global History of Architecture 21st edition.
Construction Information Service
Includes 300+ full text e-books from publishers including RIBA and Routledge.
ICE Virtual Library
Civil Engineering eBook collection.
IET eBook Ultimate Collection
Covering an extensive range of engineering and computing subject areas (1979-2021) including, cyber security, healthcare technologies and energy engineering.
Knovel Library
Knovel Library's eBook collection of 350+ titles covering Engineering, Civil Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Fire Protection Engineering, Nanotechnology,, Regulatory Information and Safety & Industrial Hygiene. Updated regularly, includes interactive content. Includes content from ASHRAE, ASM and ASME.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science
This distinguished conference proceedings series publishes the latest research developments in all areas of computer science. Includes its subseries Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) and Lecture Notes in Bioinformatics (LNBI).
O'Reilly Learning
Collection of online training courses, books, videos, and interactive tutorials across a ranging of computing , IT, Engineering, Construction,and related subject areas.
Oxford Reference Online
More than 350 online OUP dictionaries and reference works across a wide range of subjects.
Open Access and Freely Available Resources
Open access (OA) means unrestricted online access to peer-reviewed scholarly research, including books, journal articles and theses. Many databases and journal publishers will provide access to Open Access material. Look for the orange symbol or the words Open Access.