Details of Lilbrary resources on American History. See also our collection of relevant internet links for American History
Encyclopedia of African American history 1619-1895 (print)
Notable American women : a biographical dictionary, completing the twentieth century (print)
The Oxford Essential Dictionary of the US Military
The Oxford Guide to the United States Government
The Oxford Guide to the United States Supreme Court Decisions
The Library has an extensive collection of material for American Studies including microfilm of rare newspapers, and journal reprints in the campus libraries. These are listed in the following documents.
NB As most of these are being transferred from Jordanstown to Coleraine campus library you are advised to check the Library Catalogue for uptodate information. For the most recent details, contact Jayne Dunlop, ja.dunlop@ulster.ac.uk.
New York Times 1851-2010 Online
Nexis full text of current newspapers worldwide
The library has print and electronic journals relevant to American history
some examples include
The Annual Register
The Black Scholar
CIvil War History
Radical History Review
Coleraine
The Non book media section has videos and DVDs of interest to American studies and also includes a number of sound recordings on LP which may be of interest to American studies students. Please ask at the library information desk as these are held in the short loan room.
| Angela Davis speaks | Based on an exclusive interview by Joe Walker of “Muhammad Speaks” newspaper. |
| Berkeley teach-in: Vietnam | Voices and documents recorded at the Berkeley Campus of the University of California by Radio Station KFPA. Includes the voices of Dr Benjamin Spock, Norman Mailer & Bob Parri |
| Black protest: annals of protest against slavery and oppression | Compiled from the writings, speeches and documents of black men in the U.S. from the eighteenth century through the 1960's / edited by A. S. Wax |
| Good morning Vietnam | Compiled from recordings of real events and activities in Vietnam (e.g. school lessons, American & Vietcong radio, voices of GIs, machine gun fire). |
| Great American Indian speeches, Vol. 1 | The words of Geronimo, Black-Hawk, Cochise, Chief Joseph and others. Edited by Arthur Junaluska; read by Vine Deloria, Jr. and Arthur Junaluska |
| The House Committee on Un-American activities: hearings in San Francisco, May 1960 | Excerpts from the actual hearings, interviews outside the court-room and from eyewitness accounts. |
| Huey. Listen Whitey! | Black Panther platform with Seale, Cleaver, Rap Brown.
Black communities' reaction to the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. |
| Nashville sit-in story: songs and scenes of Nashville lunch-counter desegregation / conceived and directed by Guy Carawan | Re-enactment of songs, narration and scenes by various members of the Student Sit-In Movement.
|
| Roots of Black Music in America | Compiled by SamuelCharters |
| Senator Joseph R. McCarthy | A documentary of the McCarthy hearings. Produced written and narrated by Emile de Antonio |
| Socialism and the American negro | Speech by William Edward Burghardt Du Bois, before audience in Great Hall, Madison Wisconsin Memorial Union, April 5, 1960 |
| The story of Greenwood, Mississippi / recorded and produced by Guy Carawan for the Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee | Featuring Bob Moses and SNCC workers; Medgar Evers; Dick Gregory Fannie Lou Hamer and Greenwood citizens: mass meetings, hymns, prayers; freedom songs. |
| W.E.B. Dubois : a recorded autobiography | Interview by Moses Asch |
| We shall overcome: songs of the "freedom riders" and the "sit-ins" | |
| WNEW’s story of Selma with Len Chandler, Pete Seeger and the Freedom Voices | Documentary, including folksongs, on the 5 day civil rights march from Selma to Montgomery, Alabama. |