|
A database is a collection of information (e.g. journal articles, references to book chapters, newspaper articles, directives, full-text patents) which you can search in a number of ways such as by keyword, author, title. You are free to use any of the Library databases, regardless of subject area. Click here to view the complete A-Z listing of databases. However, a selection of relevant ones are listed on this page. Go to Advanced Search Tips for a guide to searching selected databases more effectively. Go to Connecting search terms with AND, OR, NOT for a guide to combining search terms using Boolean logic functions. |
 |
Databases on this page, by subject, Biosciences; Food Science; Geography, Environmental Science and GIS; Healthcare, Nursing and Paramedics; Medicine, Dentistry and Optometry; Pharmaceutical sciences; Psychology and Sport
 |
Looking for a few journal articles to get your research started? USearch is a great place to start. |
Guides
Guides
See also Evidence based Practice Library guide.
Guides
Database Library Guides
Guides
See also Evidence based Practice Library guide.
Go to the Books tab on this guide : click on the drop down menu for link to eBook databases including:
Guides
The main health and medical databases use controlled vocabulary to organise content;
Medline (OVID) uses MeSH (medical subject headings)
CINAHL Ultimate uses CINAHL Headings
EMBASE (OVID) uses Emtree
PsycInfo (OVID) uses Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms
These are lists of standardised, preferred terms used by each database to organise and describe topics, regardless of the terminology used by the article’s authors.
Click here to view OVID's quick tutorial on special techniques in Medline including MESH headings - recommended.