Irish, Ulster Scots and Celtic Studies: Databases

The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. The complete database now contains 524,000 records.

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education, recording programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels on a rolling 30 day EPG. There's also a searchable archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts.

Contains information and source material on 'the Troubles' in Northern Ireland. Also information on society and politics in the region.

Chronicle provides access to digitised copies of news and current affairs material covering Northern Ireland and The Troubles, along with web-based tools allowing it to be searched, viewed and annotated.

With 700 contributors & spanning 9,000 lives, it's an indispensable reference work for Ireland. Includes lives of Irish men & women who made a significant contribution in Ireland & abroad, as well as those born overseas with noteworthy careers in Ireland.

The DFA contains over 70 hours of moving images about Northern Ireland from 1897-2000. There are items covering drama, animation, documentaries, news, newsreels, amateur and actuality film.

British Parliamentary Papers relating to Ireland & Irish affairs published during the period of the Act of Union (1801-1922). An invaluable source for the social history of Ireland, including statistics relating to population, emigration & much more.

Historical Texts brings together three historically significant collections for the first time: Early English Books Online (EEBO), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) and 65,000 texts from the British Library 19th Century collection.

Includes: Belfast Newsletter, Freeman’s Journal, Irish Farmer’s Journal, Irish Independent, Irish Press, Sunday Independent and other local Irish newspapers

Ireland Collection is an interdisciplinary resource of materials from and about Ireland

The Stormont Administration ran Northern Ireland as a province of the UK from 1921-72. This digital resource offers full-text searching of facsimile images of the complete record of Stormont from the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland.

This is an encyclopaedic database with articles on all manner of music topics, geographies and cultures.

British Parliamentary Papers relating to Ireland & Irish affairs published during the period of the Act of Union (1801-1922). An invaluable source for the social history of Ireland, including statistics relating to population, emigration & much more.

In American National biography online there are profiles of more than 18,000 men and women from all walks of American life, including people with Ulster connections such as William Campbell, John Hancock, Andrew Jackson, Francis Makemie, and William Maxwell.
This service is only available on campus.

Indexes approx. 400 British journals & newspapers, covering History, Language and Literature, Politics, Philosophy, Arts & Society. A search under Ulster gives over 2700 hits.

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education, recording programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels on a rolling 30 day EPG. There's also a searchable archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts.

This database gives access to millions of bibliographical records. A search under Scotch-Irish produces over 2260 hits which are sorted into books scores, archives, sound, Internet, serials, and article references

If you are doing research this is a useful place to start. Search terms such as Ulster Scots, Protestant, Presbyterian, Orange Order, all yield results.

This is a major literary database. A search under Ulster Scots yields over 50 hits, Scots English dialect literature yields over 300 hits, and Ulster poetry over 160 hits.

This is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
A search under Ulster yields over 2200 hits.

This is an excellent biographical database for persons born in Britain or Ireland. You can also do full text searches within these biographies. For example a search under Ulster Scots yields 15 hits, and Ulster Plantation 18 hits.

An archive of 200 journals, including content in over 40 languages and dialects, provides access to a collection of over 1 million full text articles.

Two Statistical Accounts of Scotland, among the best contemporary reports of life during the agricultural & industrial revolutions in Europe. Includes images, maps, tables & diagrams.