Irish, Ulster Scots and Celtic Studies: Irish & Celtic Studies Weblinks

• Celtic Mythology
• Dictionary of Medieval Latin from Celtic Sources: project based at the Royal Irish Academy
• A Dictionary of the Welsh Language
• Focal: Welsh Language Terminology
• English-Welsh-English Lexicon

• Gaeilge ar an Ghréasán  Excellent site with very comprehensive links particularly for Irish language, literature, drama, music, media, schools and colleges
• Gaelic and Gaelic Culture  a web site devoted to the language and culture of the Gaels
• Gaelport.com  a gateway to Irish-language related resources on the Web 
• Irish Resources in the Humanities  Links to a wide variety of topics:  archaelogy, art, music, history, geography, language and literature
• Irish Studies Research Guide  Links to Irish resources for language, literature, music and other subjects (Queen's College, Flushing New York)
• Island Ireland  Irish arts, culture, environment
• Le Centre de Recherche Bretonne et Celtique Royal Irish Academy
• Scoil an Léinn Cheiltigh (DIAS)
• Voice of the Shuttle  Web page for Humanities Research from the University of California, has a section on Gaelic and Celtic Resources

• Cló Iar-Chonnachta  Publisher of books and music
• Cois Life
• Litríocht.com  Bookseller of books in print
• An Siopa Leabhar
• Scoil an Léinn Cheiltigh, Institiúid Ard-léinn Bhaile Átha Cliath

• Electronic discussion lists are a good way to get in touch with other people who are interested in  specific subject areas.  The list below highlights a few discussion lists which you may find useful.  JISCmail provides category pages for their mailing lists and you may find the category for Languages and Cultural Studies useful.
• Daltaí Discussion Forums

• HEANET the Higher Education Authority website has links to higher education institutions in Ireland
• School of Celtic Studies, Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies
• Institute of Irish Studies at Queen's University Belfast
• Sabhal Mór Ostaig  Colaisde Àrd-ìre anns an Eilean Sgitheanach ann an Albainn, a' teagasg tron Ghàidhlig

• CELT Corpus of Electronic Texts  The online resource for contemporary and historical Irish documents in literature, history and politics from University College Cork.  CELT includes links to other literary resources. 
• Early Irish Glossaries Database 
• Celtic Literature Collective
• University of Toronto Libraries: Hosts access to scans of historical books on a range of topics including Irish and Celtic Studies. to limit to materials in Irish, use the language filter on the left side of the screen.
• CODECS - Online database and e-resources for Celtic Studies. Extensive free archive access to full text journals, literature and other literature
• Corpas na Gaeilge 1882-1926  A collection of printed Irish language texts published between 1882 and 1926.
• Scríbhneoirí faoi chaibidil   (RTE Radio 1).
• Ricorso- site dealing with Irish literary authors & their works in all periods, containing  comprehensive biographical & bibliographical information on 4,500 Irish writers, along with extracts from their works and commentaries upon them.
• Téacsanna Cráifeacha Gaeilge 1600-1882  An online Archive of Religious Texts 1600-1882.
• IASIL  International Association for the Study of Irish Literatures  
• Irish Writers Online  Brief biographical information about Irish writers who write in both Irish and English.
• Irish Literature Exchange: Agency to promote the translation of Ireland's literature.
• Táin Bó Cúalnge 
• Scél Mucci Mic Dathó 
• Scéla: hommage à Màol Mílscothac: Online catalogue of medieval Irish narratives. 
• The Book of Deer Project: The Book of Deer contains the oldest pieces of Gaelic writing to have survived from medieval Scotland.
• Welsh Prose 1350-1425

• Irish Script on Screen: digital images of Irish manuscripts
• Early Manuscripts at Oxford University: digital images of over 80 early manuscripts, several of Irish origin.
• The Irish Manuscripts Commission
• MS-OMIT: Manuscript Sources to Old and Middle Irish Tales

• Gaeilge ar an Ghréasán
• Island Ireland
• Gaelic and Gaelic Culture
• Celtic Art and Cultures  Web site from the University of North Carolina
• Celtic Inscribed Stones: language, location and environment. The CISP (Celtic Inscribed Stones Project) is a study of medieval Celtic Inscriptions in Scotland, Ireland, Wales, The Isle of Man, Brittany and western England.
• A Corpus of Early Medieval Inscribed Stones and Stone Sculpture in Wales
• Early Medieval Britain and Ireland
• Am Baile (Gaelic Village): a database of learning and research resources on the history, culture and language of the Scottish Highlands and Islands.
• The Celtic Languages and Cultural Identity: part of the Celticity Project at the University of Wales

• Ceolas the home of celtic music on the internet.  Very comprehensive information about events, musicians, instruments, resources, and links to many other related sites
• The Contemporary Music Centre Ireland Contains information about Irish composers and articles on Irish Music
• Traditional Irish Music Archive
• Songs from a Hidden Ulster (RTE radio 1)

• Beag Air Bheag: BBC site featuring Scottish Gaelic for beginners
• Beo Internet magazine for Irish speakers in Ireland and worldwide
• BBC Northern Ireland:  Irish Section
• Broadcasting Commission of Ireland
• Gaelport
• Giota Beag!: beginners Irish from the BBC
• Northern Ireland Screen
• Radió na Gaeltachta
• TG4
• Learn Welsh: from BBC Wales

• Gaeilge ar an Gréasán
• Foclóir Stairiúil na Gaeilge
• Focail Fholaithe (dialect language through the publication of collections made during the 20th century by Tomás de Bhaldraithe, Seosamh Ó Dálaigh and Séamas Ó Grianna, among others.)
• Corpas (ria.ie) (Historical Irish Corpus 1600 - 1926)
• Dialect (Wikipedia)
• Munster Irish
• Connacht Irish
• Cainteoirí dúchais Oirthear Uladh
• Tagairtí do Ghaedhilg Oirthear Uladh (Leabharliosta)
• Acht na dTeangacha Oifigiúla 2003 - The Official Languages Act 2003
• An Chomhairle um Oideachas Gaeltachta & Gaelscolaíochta
• Bunreacht na hÉireann
• Comhairle na Gaelscolaíochta - Council for Irish-medium Education
• Comhaontú Aoine an Chéasta
• Daonáireamh 2001: Táblaí na Gaeilge
• Daonáireamh 2002 (Poblacht na hÉireann), Tábla na Gaeltachta
• Irish: The Irish Language in Education in Northern Ireland
• Irish Speakers in Northern Ireland and the Good Friday Agreement (M. Nic Craith)  (Journal of Multilingual and Multicultural Development,  20, (6), 1999)
• Nationalists and the Irish Language in Northern Ireland (C. O'Reilly)
• Ogham in 3D project focusing on Ogham stones.
• Protestants and the Irish Language: historical heritage and current attitudes in Northern Ireland (R.M.O Pritchard)
• Tuarascáil Choimisiún na Gaeltachta 2002
• Údarás na Gaeltachta
• Suíomh Choimisinéir na Gaeilge
• Gaelic Languages Info    
• Daltaí na Gaeilge   dedicated to promoting and teaching the Irish language
• Gaeilge na Seachtaine Vocabulary, grammar etc. aimed at schools
• An Litir Bheag
• Litir do Luchd-Ionnsachaidh
   
• Other Celtic Languages
• Scottish Gaelic Learners' Materials on the Internet
• History and Status of the Welsh Language
• Cymdeithas Madog Welsh Studies Institute of North America
• Gwybodiadur: a Welsh Informationary: Welsh language resources
• Kowethas an Yeth Kernewek the Cornish Language Fellowship Online
• Cornish Language partnership MAGA
• Omniglot: Cornish language links

• Celtic Cultural Studies: an interdisciplinary online journal
• Estudios Irlandeses publishes essays, in either English or Spanish, which engage in a critical and original way with aspects of Irish literature, history, arts and the media. All articles available freely online
• e-Keltoi: journal of Interdisciplinary Celtic Studies
• Details of  University of Ulster subscribed electronic and print  journals,
• Other links are available from Margaret Lantry's bibliographical guide to Celtic Studies from University College Cork
• Ainm  Bulletin of the Ulster Place Name Society.  
• Cambrian Medieval Celtic Studies
• Celtica  Journal of the School of Celtic Studies
• Éigse: a journal of Irish studies
• Journal of Celtic Language Learning
• Journal of Celtic Linguistics
• Peritia  Journal of the Medieval Academy of Ireland

• Atlas of Family Names of Ireland: A research project led by Professor William Smyth of University College Cork.
• Irish Names from the LibraryIreland website
• Free Dictionary of Surname Origins and Last Name Meanings : Scottish names from Ancestor Search.
• Last Name Meanings: surnames of Welsh origin
• Breton Surname Origin and Last name Meaning

• Northern Ireland Place-Name Project  based in Queens's University Belfast
• Ulster Place-Name Society: this site includes a searchable index of the society Bulletin, Ainm, vols 1 - 8.
• The table of contents to Ainm Vol.s 1-6 can be  found here.
• Locus Project  to produce a new Historical Dictionary of Irish placenames and tribal names to replace Fr. Edmund Hogan's Onomasticon Goedelicum
• The IreAtlas Townland Database:based on the 1851 Census
• Scottish Place-Name Society
• Gazetteer for  Scotland
• Archif Melville Richards: place-name database: searchable database of Welsh place-names
• Welsh Origins of Place Names in Britain: Ordnance Survey page which also gives information on Gaelic, Scots and Scandinavian place name origins
• An Index to the Historical Place Names of Cornwall

To make the best use of Google, we recommend the Scholar search. This limits results to higher quality resources.

Want to check if the Library can provide full text? Click Settings and Library links. Search for University of Ulster and save your preferences.  That way you will see links to full-text within our e-journal collection in your search results.

Top tip:  login to the Portal first - that will help with full text access off campus.