Environmental Science & Marine Science: Websites

EPA ensures that Ireland's environment is protected, and monitors changes in environmental trends to detect early warning signs of neglect or deterioration

Includes news from the Society. The journal Irish Geography is available from our electronic journals collection

ISO develops International Standards. Founded in 1947, the organisation has published more than 19,500 International Standards covering almost all aspects of technology and business

Ordnance Survey is the National Mapping Authority of Great Britain, and creates, maintains and disseminates consistent, definitive and authoritative geospatial and cartographic data and products of Great Britain in the national interest

The Quaternary Research Association is an organisation comprising archaeologists, botanists, civil engineers, geographers, geologists, soil scientists, zoologists and others interested in research into the problems of the Quaternary.
The site includes links to a wealth of technical resources and links to other Quaternary organisations.

The Society provides a forum where scientists, managers and other professionals exchange information and ideas on the study, analysis and solution of environmental problems, the management and regulation of natural resources, research and development, and environmental education

Working to eliminate the dangers of toxic pesticides, our exposure to them, and their presence in the environment where we live and work. Nationally and globally, we promote safer alternatives, the production of healthy food, and sustainable farming

Practical Action is an international non-governmental organisation (NGO) that uses technology to challenge poverty in developing countries. We find out what people are doing and help them to do it better. Through technology we enable poor communities to build on their skills and knowledge to produce sustainable and practical solutions – transforming their lives forever

The Trussell Trust’s network of over 420 foodbanks operate out of more than 1,200 centres across the UK and provide a minimum of three days’ emergency food and support to people experiencing crisis. In 2017/18, we gave 1,332,952 three day emergency food supplies to people in crisis.

World Land Trust (WLT) is an international conservation charity that takes direct action to save rainforest and other wildlife habitats. By working with local partners across the world, WLT helps fund protected nature reserves to save threatened species.

Includes information on Land Cover Map 2007

The Survey has been carried out at regular intervals since 1978

Biodiversity database from the European Environment Agency

Produced by the Centre for Ecology & Hydrology

Natural England works with people such as farmers, town and country planners, researchers and scientists, and the general public on a range of schemes and initiatives

The need to enhance landscape character is endorsed by the Government in planning policy statements and is one of the central aims of Environmental Stewardship

Natural Areas - based on the distribution of wildlife and natural features - offer a way of planning nature conservation action and can help guide an ecosystem approach

The Northern Ireland Countryside Survey (NICS) is a sample based landscape ecological survey which estimates the amount and monitors changes in area of vegetation habitats and length of field boundaries throughout NI

Hosted by Oklahoma State University

Available from EUR-Lex, the official site for European legislation

Developed by the European Commission for companies and other organisations to evaluate, report, and improve their environmental performance

The EEA aims to provide sound, independent information on the environment

ICZM aims for the coordinated application of the different policies affecting the coastal zone and related to activities such as nature protection, aquaculture, fisheries, agriculture, industry, off shore wind energy, shipping, tourism, development of infrastructure and mitigation and adaptation to climate change

Web pages provide details of relevant projects, research and publications

Multimedia resource for coastal and marine information and spatial data in Ireland

Scotland’s environmental regulator

EPA's integrated research programs provide the scientific foundation, methods, and tools the Agency needs to fulfill its mission of protecting human health and the environment

Site gives access to the bioassessment methods used for rivers, lakes, transitional waters and coastal waters in the UK and other associated standards

WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system

Includes over 9,000 datasets from all central government departments and a number of other public sector bodies and local authorities.

EPA ensures that Ireland's environment is protected, and monitors changes in environmental trends to detect early warning signs of neglect or deterioration

This site replaces direct.gov.uk. Includes links to UK government and public service information.