 Source: File:"Citation needed".jpg - Wikimedia Commons |
See the tabs above more more information and guidance. |
When you complete your dissertation or paper you must cite all the sources you used, accurately and consistently. Sometimes these sources (or references) may be footnotes within the text, or a list of references at the end of the work. In the Faculty of Arts, Humanities & the Social Sciences, there are a variety of referencing schemes used, e.g. Harvard, an 'author, date' style using references at the end of the piece of work, and MLA, MHRA and Chicago which use a footnotes system.
Always consult your lecturer or department on which citation style is preferred, particularly if you are studying in more than one faculty (details should be available in your module handbook), and use the same method throughout.
Harvard is an Author-Date system of referencing, with short in-text citations in the body of the piece of work and a full citation to the source in the list of references at the end of the document. The Ulster University Business School (UUBS), the Faculty of Computing, Engineering and the Built Environment (CEBE), and the majority of Schools within the Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences (AHSS) use a variation of the Harvard style (called Ulster-Harvard) as their referencing Style. Not all AHSS subjects use an author-date referencing style, so please ask your lecturer in advance.
Full help and support for this style is given on the Harvard Referencing Guide (not including LHS), including self-led tutorials and quizzes from Cardiff University with links to the full guide to Referencing in the Harvard - Ulster Style.
MLA The Modern Language Association of America has a website on MLA style
MHRA The University of Leeds, Referencing web page is a helpful guide and has details of MHRA or visit the MHRA website, or visit this Cardiff University site for an MHRA tutorial.
"The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format"
University of Western Australia has a guide to citing in the Oxford style, which you may find useful.
Please note that there is a separate and detailed Oxford University Standard for the Citation of Legal Authorities (OSCOLA) guide for law.
|
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management service which allows you to collect, organise and store references from a variety of sources, such as books, journal articles and websites. |
|
| It can then help you to quickly produce bibliographies, reference lists and in-text citations in a range of referencing styles, e.g. Harvard, Vancouver, MLA., etc. (See Ulster University guide to using Refworks). | |
|
|
The following bibliographic managers are freely available on the internet.
Zotero:
This is a free plug in for Firefox. If you are already using Zotero you might find the following guides useful.
Mendeley:
Mendeley is a desktop and web-based citation management tool. With it you can organize research materials, annotate PDFs, and create citations. You can also network with others researching in your discipline who are using Mendeley. Read more about it from Wikipedia.
Mendeley Video Tutorials Tutorials on importing documents, generating citations, organizing your library and more.
Potential consequences of plagiarisms or other cheating methods.
The areas of support mentioned in the video below are available at Ulster as well, via services such as Studiosity; peer mentoring, offered through the PASS scheme; support with Referencing, from the Library Referencing workshops, as well as support and advice from your studies advisor.
Also available as ebook
Below if a very important and timely guide to the pros and cons of using AI generated text and images in your work.
Many students struggle with academic writing. Studiosity is an online service providing students with 24/7 academic writing support either by live one-to-one chat or by uploading a more significant piece of draft writing for review. Each student has 6 credits that can be used this semester and each credit gets one support session. It is recommended that students save their credits for submission of a meaningful piece of academic work as credits can be used up quickly.
The Subject Specialists at Studiosity are academic experts and teachers who read and comment on every file submitted. They won’t proof read or correct a file for quality or relevance of content, they solely provide comprehensive feedback on grammar, structure, referencing, and English. The service is available to all undergraduate students.. Once students have uploaded their draft, they get it back in less than 24 hours to critically examine their writing, and incorporate the feedback they have received.
NB: there is a limit of 5,500 words and a file size of less than 4MB per submission.
The University Library database Skills for study is a great place to start. for help with all aspects of study and writing.
Ulster University has a Student Success Centre which provides support and guidance for both undergraduate and post-graduate students. There are four main strands: Academic Skills, Digital Skills, Maths and Statistics, and Study Skills. Each strands contains useful videos, tutorials, tips and advice.
The University Library database Skills for study is a great place to start. for help with all aspects of study and writing.
In addition the following links may also prove useful.
There is an important difference between writing descriptively and using critical analysis in your writing. Here are some useful resources that may help you.
Courtesy of North Carolina State University, a useful overview of the Literature review process.
Find out more about carrying out a literature review using the links below.
Correctly and accurately acknowledging your sources helps demonstrates academic integrity - without which academic collaboration and knowledge cannot develop. Society, including future employers, must be able to trust that your educational award has been fairly earned and that you have - and can apply - the skills and knowledge that your university says you possess.
