|
A database is a collection of information (e.g. journal articles, references to book chapters, newspaper articles, directives, full-text patents) which you can search in a number of ways such as by keyword, author, title. You are free to use any of the Library databases, regardless of subject area. Click here to view the complete A-Z listing of databases. However, a selection of relevant ones are listed on this page.
Go to Advanced Search Tips for a guide to searching selected databases more effectively. Go to Connecting search terms with AND, OR, NOT for a guide to combining search terms using Boolean logic functions.
|
 |
The main health and medical databases use controlled vocabulary to organise content;
Medline (OVID) uses MeSH (medical subject headings)
CINAHL Plus uses CINAHL Headings
EMBASE (OVID) uses Emtree
PsycInfo (OVID) uses Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms
These are lists of standardised, preferred terms used by each database to organise and describe topics, regardless of the terminology used by the article’s authors.
Click here to view OVID's quick tutorial on special techniques in Medline including MESH headings - recommended.
|
If you need help searching for information or using any of the Library's databases please do contact a member of the Subject Librarian team.
Image © Ulster University |
I |
 |
Looking for a few journal articles to get your research started? USearch is a great place to start. |
The Library hosts a number of clinical support tools for health professionals.
These are evidence-based support tools for clinical guidance in making appropriate care decisions.
The BMJ Best Practice includes information of different topics by speciality, treatment algorithms, drug information, patient education information, medical calculators, and video support for common practical procedures. Practice changes are updated daily and the tools are also available in an app format, which can be accessed offline. Video support can be accessed here.
Bates' visual guide to physical examination delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques videos, as well as OSCE clinical reasoning videos. The site features 8+ hours of video content.
UpToDate is a support tool designed to provide up to date evidence quickly to ensure evidence based decision making. It contains more than 12,000 clinical topics across 25 specialities, medical calculators and patient information.
These tools can be accessed through the A-Z database listings on the Library Homepage.
To make the best use of Google, we recommend using Google Scholar. This limits results to higher quality academic resources; such as peer reviewed journals and research papers.
Looking for help on how to get the best out of Google Scholar? Take a look at Google Scholar's Search Tips.
Want to check if our Library can provide full text from Scholar? Follow these steps:
Click on the Google Menu icon in the top left corner of the screen:
Next click on the Google Settings icon, 
.
Select Library Links and search for ulster university.
Save the preferences displayed. This way, you will see links to full text within our electronic journals collection in your searches.
We also have a short video to explain how to set this up.
