Nursing, Midwifery and Health Promotion: Grey Literature For Health

Created by Jess Tyndal at Flinders University, this is an excellent resource for evaluating grey lit.

CORE is a ssearchable database of Open Access content from UK and international repositories.

500,000+ records of UK Doctoral theses. It allows download of an increasing number of electronic and digitised theses direct to the desktop.

directory of academic open access repositories

Guidelines and Measures

With links to Publications and Policy Documents.

"BMC Proceedings is an online, open access journal publishing proceedings of conferences, including both peer-reviewed full-length articles and collections of meeting abstracts. Devoted specifically to conference publications, including large collections of articles, meetings of specialized interest and conferences of a cross- or multi-disciplinary nature, each collection is published as a supplement. Content is not restricted to any particular discipline within biomedicine."

CHAIN - Contact, Help, Advice and Information Network - is an online mutual support network for people working in health and social care. It gives people a simple and informal way of contacting each other to exchange ideas and share knowledge.

"The European Medicines Agency is a decentralised agency of the European Union, located in London. The Agency is responsible for the scientific evaluation of medicines developed by pharmaceutical companies for use in the European Union. It began operating in 1995."

The King's Fund is an independent charity working to improve health and health care in England.

Multidisciplinary European database, covering science, technology, biomedical science, economics, social science and humanities

International prospective register of systematic reviews

"The UK Data Service is a comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC to support researchers, teachers and policymakers who depend on high-quality social and economic data."

Searchable clinical trials site for professionals and patients

ClinicalTrials.gov is a US based registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.

The EU Clinical Trials Register website allows you to search for information on clinical trials in European Union (EU) member states and the European Economic Area (EEA) and clinical trials which are conducted outside the EU/EEA if they form part of a paediatric investigation plan (PIP).

"The ISRCTN registry is a primary clinical trial registry recognised by WHO and ICMJE that accepts all clinical research studies (whether proposed, ongoing or completed), providing content validation and curation and the unique identification number necessary for publication. All study records in the database are freely accessible and searchable."

"AllTrials calls for all past and present clinical trials to be registered and their full methods and summary results reported."

An academic discussion list site. You can join (and set up your own lists) to search information, research and practice across a wide range of topics.

Research hub for the sciences.