Library Guides: Business and Management: Journals and Databases

What is a journal?

Journals are published regularly and contain the most recent information on a subject.

To find an individual journal, search the Electronic Journals catalogue, using the title of the journal.

If we don't have the journal/article you need use the Document Delivery service to request a copy.

How to I find an individual e-journal title?

PDF of E-journals transcript

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar search finds journal articles and other high quality information, especially Open Access (freely accessible) scholarly information.

However, unlike Library databases, it has limited search options and functions. We we recommend that it should not be your sole source of information but to use in combination with appropriate Library databases.

Follow the steps shown in this video to:

get started searching Scholar.
link to full text sources held at Ulster.
export references to the Refworks database.

For more information on Google Scholar, including search tips and citation metrics go to Google's help pages.

A database is a collection of information (e.g. journal articles, references to book chapters, newspaper articles, directives, full-text patents) which you can search in a number of ways such as by keyword, author, title.

Core databases for business, management and finance are listed below. Find useful websites on the Individual Business Subjects pages.

ABI Inform Collection
Access to thousands of academic and professional business journals as well as a large collection of full-text market reports, economic working papers and case studies. Look out, too, for the handy Charting Economies reports available through ABI/Inform for a huge number of countries - perfect for research on developing the export market or geographical PESTEL analysis. Find them by entering charting [country name] on the main search page.
Business Source Ultimate
A major business resource, providing historical information and current trends. In addition to peer-reviewed full-text journals, it includes case studies, country economic reports and company profiles, plus interviews with executives and analysts.
FT.com
Coverage of UK/international business, finance, economic & political news as well as comment/analysis from leading journalists and insight into management trends and new developments. Gives access to the current edition and 8-year archive.
Registration required on first use.
Scopus
Multidisciplinary resource covering a wide range of topics such as: building, engineering, computing, business, economics and the social sciences.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering, sciences, technology and the social sciences.
USearch
Ulster Library's Discovery service. Content includes the majority of our full text journal collections.

Our Commercial Awareness databases are full of information on company performance, markets and global economic conditions. Use them alongside our core databases for a well-rounded assignment.

Fame
The primary database for financial information on UK and ROI companies, containing the financial returns of all registered companies. Allows users to view useful company snapshots and examine segments within particular sectors.
IBISWorld
IBISWorld provides instant access to performance data, analysis and forecasts for hundreds of UK industries, plus ROI and Global Industry Reports. Each entry includes a SWOT analysis.
Mintel Reports Academic
Full-text access to marketing information covering both Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland. Also access to over 500 full-text UK market reports including the food and drink sector & Travel and Tourism Reports.
Passport
Provides extensive international statistics, market reports, company profiles and other information sources for consumer markets in 210 countries.
Free registration is required on first access.
Statista
Statista provides international statistics, forecast data and industry reports with access to over 1 million+ statistics & facts for 170 industries from 50 countries.
Free registration is required upon first access.

USearch

Creating a Personal Account in USearch
Create a personal account to save searches, articles and set up alerts.