Library Guides: Business and Management: Accounting, Finance and Economics

Business and Management Databases

Core Business Databases
Law Databases

USearch
Ulster Library's Discovery service. Content includes the majority of our full text journal collections.
ABI Inform Collection
Access to thousands of academic and professional business journals as well as a large collection of full-text market reports, economic working papers and case studies. Look out, too, for the handy Charting Economies reports available through ABI/Inform for a huge number of countries - perfect for research on developing the export market or geographical PESTEL analysis. Find them by entering charting [country name] on the main search page.
Business Source Ultimate
A major business resource, providing historical information and current trends. In addition to peer-reviewed full-text journals, it includes case studies, country economic reports and company profiles, plus interviews with executives and analysts.
FT.com (Financial Times)
Coverage of UK/international business, finance, economic & political news as well as comment/analysis from leading journalists and insight into management trends and new developments. Gives access to the current edition and 8-year archive. Requires individual registration.
FAME
The primary database for financial information on UK and ROI companies, containing the financial returns of all registered companies. Allows users to view useful company snapshots and examine segments within particular sectors.
Scopus
Multidisciplinary resource covering a wide range of topics such as: building, engineering, computing, business, economics and the social sciences.

We also recommended that students and staff refer to the Law Guide created by the Ulster Law Librarians for detailed help and information on legal resources.

Lexis UK
Legal database which includes UK, EU and international case law, legislation, UK Statutory Instruments, legal journals and books. It is the only database source for Northern Ireland case law. Coverage from 1952.
Westlaw
Legal database which includes UK, EU and international case law, legislation, UK Statutory Instruments, legal journals and books. Includes sections on Westlaw US and Westlaw International. Coverage from 1952.
Legislation.gov.uk
UK Legislation (including Northern Ireland). Browse by date and jurisdiction or search the content by keywords.

Websites

Accounting Web
AccountingWEB is a community site containing insights and trend highlights to help tax and accounting professionals improve their practices and better serve their client
Taxation Web
UK Tax information website with forum, news and articles for taxpayers, businesses and professional advisers.
Financial Reporting Council
FRC has direct statutory powers in relation to audit regulation, as well as some statutory powers delegated by the UK Secretary of State. It has a mission to promote transparency and integrity in business.

Jonathan Smith: Do tax cuts stimulate the economy.

Professional Associations

ACCA
ACCA is the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants, comprised of 227,000 members based in 176 countries. Their mission is to uphold professional and ethical values in the accountancy sector through training, partnership and professional development.
ACCA Professional Insights
ACCA Professional Insights is an extensive research and thought leadership portfolio. Themes include the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals, future skills, technology, public finance, sustainability, diversity and global economics. Reports, articles, videos and events are free to access
CIMA
CIMA is the world’s largest professional body of management accountants. Their website includes advice and study resources for professional qualifications. Includes links to the Global Management Accounting Principles and Financial Management magazine. Registration is required to access most study materials.
The Association of International Accountants (AIA)
is a global membership body for professional accountants, which promotes the concept of ‘international accounting’.
Chartered Accountants Ireland
Chartered Accountants Ireland (The Institute) is a membership body representing 26,000 influential members throughout the globe. Their role is to educate, represent and support members. See the Knowledge Centre for free reports, legal materials and briefing notes.