Library Guides: Government and Official Publications: Ireland

Sources of Current Information

gov.ie
Main Government web portal
Governments on the www: Ireland
Comprehensive database of governmental institutions on the World Wide Web
Houses of the Oireachtas The National Parliament (Oireachtas) consists of the President and two Houses: Dáil Éireann (House of Representatives) and Seanad Éireann (the Senate).
Publications of the Houses of the Oireachtas Homepage of the Publications section provides summary of various reports and official publications available with links.
more... less...

Oireachtas publications includes only the legislation, records and proceedings and does not included all papers laid before the Houses of the Oireachtas.
A Brief Guide to How Your Parliament Works
Explains functions of Dáil Éireann, Seanad Éireann and the Committees with a useful glossary
Office of the President
Official website of the Irish President
Department of the Taoiseach
Links from the homepage include Publications and Enacted Government Legislation
Debates of the Dáil contains the full text of the Dáil Debates from 21 January 1919 (First Dáil) to 19 July 2012, and the Seanad Debates from 11 December 1922 (First Seanad) to 20 July 2012, and selected committee debates from 27 May 1924 to 25 July 2012,
Current Debates: Oireachtas
Includes the Dáil, Seanad, and committee debates updated on a daily basis.
Irish State News - Iris Oifigiúil
The official Irish State gazette is published twice a week. Online archive from 2002.

more... less...

Iris Oifigiúil is the official means used by the Government for announcing appointments to public offices and publishing proclamations; statutory instruments; appointment of receivers to companies; etc.
Irish Statute Book The electronic Irish Statute Book (eISB) includes Acts of the Oireachtas and Statutory Instruments from 1922 onwards. The eISB also includes the Legislation Directory.

Introduction

Ireland is a Parliamentary Democracy. The National Parliament (Oireachtas) consists of the President and two houses: Dáil Éireann (House of Representatives) and Seanad Éireann (the Senate) whose functions and powers derive from the Constitution of Ireland enacted by the People on 1st July, 1937.

Library holdings

European Parliament and the Oireachtas (Irish Parliament)

The Oireachtas and the EU

Much of the legislation developed and debated by the Oireachtas originates from Europe.

Sources of Historical Information

Enhanced British Parliamentary Papers on Ireland Library database: British Parliamentary Papers relating to Ireland & Irish affairs published during the period of the Act of Union (1801-1922).
more... less...

An invaluable source for the social history of Ireland, including statistics relating to population, emigration & much more.
The printed records of the Parliament of Ireland, 1613-1800 : a survey and bibliographical guide
Examines both the papers and the context in which they were produced.
House of Commons:Ireland - a general index or digest from 1613 - 1800
Microform
Ireland in the nineteenth century: a breviate of offficial publications
A selection of some 600 British government publications concerning Ireland.

Numbering and Indexing

The debates of the Dail have indexes in each volume to general business, questions and members speaking.

For the debates of the Seanad, each volume has an index for business and members speeches.

Featured Books

The Dáil in the 21st Century by Anthony O'Halloran
ISBN: 9781856356367

Publication Date: 2010-12-31

The Dáil in the 21st Century argues that the position of Dáil Éireann, far from declining, has actually been enhanced.