All employees of the Health and Social Care Services (HSC) in Northern Ireland are entitled to sign up for access to the Healthcare Library of Northern Ireland. Formerly known as HONNI, the Library provides free library and information services as well as expert support and guidance to all registered members.
Healthcare Library of Northern Ireland Registration form.
Health and Medical resources are also available to NHS staff in England, Scotland, Wales or the Health Service Executive in Ireland. You will need to register for an individual OpenAthens username and password to access resources for your region.
Access to Research gives free, walk-in access to a wide range of academic articles in participating public libraries across the UK (including Belfast Central library).
Subjects include art, architecture, business, engineering, history, languages, politics, philosophy, mathematics and the sciences
All content provided is digital and can be accessed from your designated library terminal, via a search delivery service called Summon
Click here to view a list of participating public libraries.
 |
All graduates of Ulster University resident in the UK and ROI can join the Library as Alumni Borrowers. |
If you are current member of Libraries NI, the Northern Ireland public library service, you can apply to join the Ulster University Library as a borrower.
Civic Access borrowers may borrow up to 2 standard loan books from any of our libraries. They can also request books to be sent between any of our campus libraries. Further information is available here.
Open access (OA) means unrestricted online access to peer-reviewed scholarly research. The scheme includes scholarly journal articles, theses, book chapters and scholarly monographs. |
Many scholarly databases and journal publishers will provide access to Open Access material. Look for the symbol above or the words Open Access.
Below are a few Open Access providers to get you started.
PMC PubMed Central - You can also search the main PubMed database which will link to full text where available.
Europe PMC - a repository, providing access to worldwide life sciences articles, books, patents and clinical guidelines.
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
PLoS - Public Library of Science
Cochrane Library - freely available in the UK and Ireland
Ulster University Research Portal - covers the University's research activity. Includes access to many full text documents.
Springer Link Open Access Package
Graduates and former members of staff of Ulster University can continue to use RefWorks through the RefWorks Alumni Program.
Those who already have a RefWorks account when they graduate or retire will be able to transfer their references into an Alumni account. Instructions are available from the Library's RefWorks guide.
PubMed is the US National Library of Medicine's information portal. It is a very good source of reliable scholarly, academic material such as journal articles, theses and reports. It will link to freely available material where available but you may be asked to pay for full text.
Looking for help on how to get the best out of PubMed? Take a look at the PubMed user guide.
To make the best use of Google, we recommend using Google Scholar. This limits results to higher quality academic resources; such as peer reviewed journals and research papers.
Looking for help on how to get the best out of Google Scholar? Take a look at Google Scholar's Search Tips.
