Library Guides: AHSS Teaching and Research Support: Newspaper Archives

Newspaper Archives - Library Databases

Individual Newspapers - available separately from Library Databases A-Z

Newspaper Collections - available from Library Databases A-Z

Irish Newspaper Archive List of titles
The database is regularly updated so check this link for details of publications included with date ranges.
Derry Journal
Digitised version from 2 January 1798-30 December 1806 from the Ulster University Collection, and made available via JSTOR

Journals

Internet Library of Early Journals was a project to make available at least 20 years of back runs of early journals. Although the project has now ended, the webpage now provides direct links to the institutions which can provide full text access to the journals listed below.
Three 18th-century journals	Three 19th-century journals
The Annual Register, 1758-1778	Notes and Queries, 1849-1869
Gentleman's Magazine, 1757-1775	The Builder, 1843-1862
Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society 1757-1775	Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine, 1843-1863
Gale NewsVault contains the British Library Collection of 19th Century Periodicals

An Index to The County Down Spectator	1904 -1964
The Londonderry Journal and General Advertiser: a local index	1772-1779
Mourne Observer: An Index to the Mourne Observer	1949-1980
Newspaper Press Directory (pub. 1968)
New York Times Index	1851-1936; 1950-53; 1960-96; 1997 incomplete; 1998-2002
Northern Ireland newspapers : in NI Libraries
Northern Star: An index to County Down and Lisburn items in the "Northern Star”	1792-97
The Times Index	1954-59 ; 1968-
Waterloo Directory of Irish Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900	1800 -1900
World list of national newspapers : a union list of national newspapers in libraries in the British Isles

Where to find some key newspapers
Guide to finding back numbers of some main newspapers in our Library and in other libraries in Northern Ireland or online. Includes the Belfast Newsletter, Belfast Telegraph, Derry Journal, Guardian, Irish News, Irish Times, New York Times, Observer, Sunday Times, The Times.
Newspaper Archives in Ulster University Library
The campus libraries hold back runs of newspapers in hard-copy and microfilm or microfiche.
Irish Radical and Political Newspapers
Coleraine Library houses an Irish Radical and Political Newspaper Collection. This is on microfilm and covers the period 1886-1939.
Irish Newspapers in Dublin Libraries
Newspapers published 1685-1754.
Radical Periodicals of Great Britain
Radical Periodicals in the US
Detailed listing of the collection of Radical North American Periodicals & Newspapers in Coleraine library. The Collection consists of 73 reels of microfilm and 21 folders of microfiche and covers the period 1881-1963.

These documents should open in most browsers, but if they don't, please contact a member of the AHSS team at ahss@library,ulster.ac.uk

These collections are online either as Library databases or on the internet.

Belfast Central Library
British Library
more... less...

Contains information about its national and international collections (e..g. early American newspapers, Arabic. early Indian and others).
There is also a link to English and Welsh, Irish and Scottish newspapers on the internet with their respective archives.
British Newspaper Archive
Linen Hall Library
National Library of Ireland
National Library of Scotland
Public Record Office Northern Ireland