The Irish Collection in Magee Library
To celebrate the richness of the Irish Collection in Magee Library, staff and students from the Faculty of Arts have worked with library staff to contribute to a booklet which highlights some of the most important books and journals held in the Collection. Printed copies of the booklet, The Irish Collection in the Magee Library of Ulster University, are available in all campus Libraries.
Special Collection News
Welcome to Special Collections
The Library at the University of Ulster holds a significant number of Special Collections which will of interest to researchers locally, nationally and internationally. We welcome enquiries both from members of the University and external researchers who wish to consult material contained within the collections.
The Special Collections comprise both manuscript and rare published material and are held separately from the main stock in the University Library. Access conditions will vary depending on the collection you wish to consult and which campus library the collection is held in. Special Collections material can be found in the libraries at Coleraine, Jordanstown and Magee.
For more details on accessing the Collections, see Visiting Special Collections .
Contact details for the library team members appear below, but if you have a Special Collections enquiry, email the whole team on the Special Collection email above.
We would also welcome your feedback on this Guide or on any aspect of our Special Collections.
Contact Details for the Arts Library Subject Team
Pliny's Historia Naturalis, 1472
Pliny, the Elder. Historia naturalis. Venice, Nicolas Jenson, 1472.
A very fine edition in vellum. The illustrations and initials are by Franco dei Rossi. The illustrated page below features the coat of arms of an early owner, Francesco Donato, Doge of Venice (1545-53).
Our Special Collections Strategy
We recognise the rich intellectual value and cultural inheritance provided by our Special Collections and Rare Books. The Special Collections Strategy will inform the decisiions we make in regard to the curation, preservation and promotion of these collections.