The collection, which is based at the Coleraine campus library, consists of some 190 printed items, and a few manuscripts, ranging from a leaf of the first book printed using moveable type, the Gutenberg Bible, to the works of the Gregynog and other private twentieth-century presses, and includes examples of the work of some of the most notable of the early printers, especially Aldus Manutius, Nicolas Jenson and Johann and Peter Schoeffer. There are 57 incunabula items dated before 1500 - many of which are still in their original bindings. For more information go to the Henry Davis page.
Hosted at Magee, the Library is the combined collections of both the Derry Diocesan Library and the Raphoe Diocesan Library which were amalgamated in 1881. The books range in date from 1480 to 1900, and include the libraries of many bishops of the North West, notably Ezekiel Hopkins, who was bishop at the time of the Siege of Derry, 1689. For more information go to the Derry & Raphoe Diocesan Library page.
Item from the Magee Rare Books Collection: Ms 40. Illuminated address to the cardinal Bishop of Padua
The Rare Books Collection in Magee Library contains approximately 3,000 volumes representing an ad hoc assemblage of items dating principally from the 17th and 18th centuries. The material was acquired gradually over the years. Early purchases were made by the Library and there were donations by former members of staff and notable dignitaries.
There are 700 early printed books to 1700 and a collection of 18th century printing on a variety of topics, including items from the Siege of Derry (1689), pamphlets, theology (especially Presbyterian) and items with a bias towards Irish printing. Included in the collection are some manuscripts concerning the early history of Magee College by former members of staff.
|
There is one incunabulum. The Collection is also home to political cartoons. Local historian H. P.Swann donated nineteenth century cartoons, which were later augmented by a further 300 political cartoons from Martyn Turner. The Swann donation are cartoons from the Dublin journal The Irish Weekly Freeman. The cartoons in the Turner donation are inspired by social and political events in Northern Ireland over the past 30 years (1970-2000). ACCESS The Collection is closed. Books are listed in a separate card catalogue. Researchers wishing to consult the material should contact the Special Collections Team, Faculty of Arts Humanities and Social Sciences. |