Special Collections and Rare Books: Irish Collection (Magee)

To celebrate the richness of the Irish Collection in Magee Library, staff and students from the Faculty of Arts have worked with library staff to contribute to a booklet which highlights some of the most important books and journals held in the Collection. Printed copies of the booklet, The Irish Collection in the Magee Library of Ulster University, are available in all campus Libraries.

The Magee Library houses one of the most comprehensive collections of Irish material in the north west of Ireland. Over the years the Library at Magee benefited from a number of donations. Many of these came from former College professors. The most significant donations came from Rev. Richard Dill of Dublin and Rev. John Kinnear of Letterkenny.

The main collection has more than 6000 books and 800 pamphlets covering a wide subject area, but with its main strengths in Irish history and literature. There are primary historical resources such as the Calendar of the Ancient Records of Dublin, the Annals of the Kingdom of Ireland and the Annals of Loch Cé. There is also a collection of 18th century Irish printed material, Irish Statutes (1310 - 1800) and Calendars of State Papers.

There is a journals section, with titles such as the Journal of the Royal Society of the Antiquaries of Ireland (1890 - 1992), and the Ulster Journal of Archaeology dating back to 1853. The Derry Almanac is a useful tool for local historians.

The Library continues to add to the Collection but with an emphasis now on material relating to the north west of Ireland.

Most stock is listed in the Library Catalogue, and items are identified with an 'Irish Collection' prefix before the shelf number. However, there are also two 'pamphlet' collections which are not listed electronically, although a searchable listing is available for each.

• The 1971 Pamphlets range from the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries comprising the history & politics, education, theology, legal and social conditions of Ireland.
• The 1982 Pamphlets are a more eclectic mix of newspaper cuttings, photographs, monographs, letters, typescripts and handwritten notes, much of it to do with the city of Londonderry, its walls and the Siege

Access

The Irish Collection is not open for general use. Only Ulster University academic staff, PhD research students and Ulster Associate staff have browsing access.  All other Ulster staff and students should contact the Information Point and complete a request slip for items they wish to see. Last retrieval of material is 30 minutes before the library closes.

Many items may be borrowed. However items published before 1950 are for use in the Consultation area only. Some post-1950 items may also be individually marked "Library Use"and must be viewed in the Consultation area only.

Non-Ulster visitors should follow the advice given in Visiting the Special Collections.