Location: Coleraine Campus Library. (Moved from Jordanstown January 2020)
The Irish Travelling People Collection at Ulster University, is a unique collection of material covering all aspects of the Travellers’ way of life, values and customs. The Collection was assembled by Aileen L’Amie, of the University of Ulster School of Education, and donated to the library in Jordanstown at the time of her retirement in 1998. It is now housed in the library on Coleraine campus.
The Collection includes books, pamphlets, newspaper cuttings, journal articles, photographs, postcards and other material. Although most of the material covered is from the later part of the twentieth century, there are earlier documents from 1890 onwards. The collection largely focuses on the Irish Traveller community. However there is also information on Travellers in Britain, Scotland, Europe and the United States of America.
Subjects covered in the collection include:
Early history of the Traveller community, Shelta, folktales and folk music, health and welfare, education and site provision.
The earlier volumes of the collection are organised into broad subject categories. Later material is added into general volumes as received. Most material was collected between 1975 and 1998 although occasional contributions continue to be received. For example, the family tree of Dr Sinead Ni Shuinear, herself a major contributor to the Collection, was converted into digital format by Dr Mark Hanley and added to the Collection in 2006.
The Collection may be consulted by arrangement with the Special Collections Team
External links and other resources
