This guide provides links to a range of good quality, free online statistical resources. It does not claim to be a comprehensive guide to what is available. Many of the print resources listed elsewhere are also available online, and/or have ceased publication and are now available exclusively via the Internet.
Some general guides are listed below.
|
Extensive publications and reports and links out to regional and thematic statistical documents |
|
|
NISRA is the principal source of official information on Northern Ireland's population and socio- economic conditions. Data is collected from individuals, households and businesses as well as from organisations such as schools, hospitals, police and the courts.
|
|
|
Similar to the National Statistics site, this is neatly divided into themes for browsing, although searching by keyword is also available
|
|
|
Statistics collated by the National Assembly for Wales on aspects of Welsh life, economy and society
|
|
|
Central Statistics Office Ireland. provides statistics produced by government departments and state organisations.
|
|
|
Eurostat has data covering the European Union, its Member States and its partners. |
 |
|
The Google Data Commons Explorer aims to make large, public-interest datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate. Downloading from Google Data Commons itself is not yet supported so you will need to get the data directly from the individual supplier. |
Many of the Library Subject Guides contains sections on relevant statistics for those subjects. See particularly:
 |
In addition to research papers and articles on Northern Ireland society, ARK carries out the Northern Ireland Life and Times Survey, the Young Life and Times Survey and the Kids Life and Times Survey. Searchable databases of research are available including: |
|
Childrens Online Research Database CAIN (the NI 'troubles' database). Northern Ireland Qualitative Archives (including Ageism and Conflict) |
|
|
|
World Development Indicators (WDI) & Global Development Finance (GDF) Access data directly via the Databank or browse the Data catalogue. |
UN Data
|
Internet-based data service bringing UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Datasets include those from UNESCO, International Labour Organisation,WHO, World Bank, IMF and OECD |
|
|
The Global Health Observatory (GHO) database is the WHO's main health statistics repository. You can find a range of health topics like mortality, the burden of disease, infectious diseases, risk factors and health expenditures. |
|
|
ILOStat Provides annual and infra-annual labour market statistics for over 100 indicators and 230 countries, areas and territories .
|
|
|
World Trade Organization See Documents & Resources section for access to several statistical databases, including trade, tarriffs and services, or go straight to the Statistics Database |
|
|
Go to the Statistics section of OECD iLibrary for options to search datasets, country tables and the OECD Factbook. However, while read access to statistical information is freely available, downloading the raw data may be restricted. If you need downloadable statistics, try the main OECD Statistics page,where there is a topic list with downloadable data and tables on Topicssuch as Health, Society, and the Environment. |
| Methodspace is an online network for the community of researchers engaged in research methods. Its users have free access to selected journal articles, book chapters, etc which highlight emerging topics in the field. |
