Library Guides: Law: Gender, Equality and Discrimination

Top Sites for Gender & Discrimination

UK Parliament - Gender Recognition
This page highlights some of the current parliamentary material available on gender recognition for transsexual people. This includes select committee reports, briefing papers on current legislation and other subjects produced by the parliamentary research services, and the latest Early Day Motions put down by MPs
UK Parliament - Sex Discrimination
This page highlights some of the current parliamentary material available on sex discrimination. This includes select committee reports, briefing papers on current legislation and other subjects produced by the parliamentary research services, and the latest Early Day Motions put down by MPs.
Gender Recognition Panel
The Gender Recognition Panel was established under the Gender Recognition Act 2004 to assess applications from transsexual people for legal recognition in their acquired gender.
EU Equality Law Court of Justice Database
Really helpful resource for finding CJEU case law
Equality & Human Rights Commission
See: Key Projects for information on sexual orientation, sex and power, and trans inequalities, amongst much more. See also the Legal & Policy section.
Equality Commission for Northern Ireland
Deals with all aspects of equality including discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation. Lists the legislation applicable to Northern Ireland. Good links page
European Commission - Publications on Gender Equality
Extensive full text documents relating to equality issues between men and women. Also provides access to the full text of a new journal - European Equality Law Review, which includes other discrimination issues including race and religion as well as gender.
Equality Law in Europe
The Equality Law in Europe: A New Generation project has put together a database of all of the Court of Justice of the European Union’s (CJEU)discrimination cases between decided between 1970-2018.. The database covers 400 cases on discrimination grounds of gender, age, race, disability, religion, sexual orientation and ethnicity.
European Institute for Gender Equality
Part of the Europa website. See especially the Resource and Documentation Centre link on the right hand side.
ILGA: Int'l Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Trans and Intersex Assoc.
Includes World Legal Survey on legal position of gay, lesbian and transgendered people around the world, and information and articles on a variety of relevant subjects. See world map. click on individual countries to see the legal status of gay marriage recognition.
Press for Change
A very comprehensive site covering policy matters, parliamentary campaigns, gender labels and labelling, employment issues etc. See especially: Legal section for legislation, cases, Employment Tribunal decisions, human rights cases etc.
Stonewall
Campaigning site containing lots of information on Gay and Lesbian issues. Click on 'What we do' for a break down by topic area including Criminal Justice. The 'At home' section covers issues such as legal issues surrounding domestic violence and rape. Excellent links sections for further research.

Recommended texts

Monaghan on Equality Law by Karon Monaghan
ISBN: 9780199603237

Publication Date: 2013

Featured site - United Nations

Much of the UN site will be useful, especially the 'Our Work' tab: Human Rights

However, the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights contains most of the direct information on Equality and Discrimination for a range of minority or other groups.

In the OHCHR home page, view Topics - All Topics - Equality & Non-Discrimination:

Here you will find further resources on: