Law: Find Case Law

The library will supply you with most cases online.  Here are the top databases for case law:

As well as online cases, the Library subscribes to the major law reporting series in print.  For example, all of the following are available in both Belfast and Magee: 

I've checked Westlaw and Lexis and still can't find the case I need.  Why?
Sometimes the case name is misspelt or the citation details are incorrect.  Think laterally! Or look at the Cases section at the front of any good textbook on the subject matter of the case to check your details.

I'm getting too many results?  How do I know which case is the right one?
Why not try citation searching?  For example to find R v Brown, enter the case citation only, i.e. 1994 1 ac 212 in the Case Citation search box in Westlaw or Lexis+ UK to get directly to the correct case report.

Where can I find Northern Ireland case law?
LexisLibrary is the only database source of NI reported and unreported judgments.  Check the 'Best Case Law Sources on the Web' section above for more information.  You may also need to consult  the Library's print collections for older Northern ireland case law.

Where can I find Irish case law?
Justis contains Irish Reports from 1806 onwards. Lexis+ UK contains the Irish Reports from 1950 and transcripts from 2010.  You can also find recent Irish cases from the Bailii.org website by limiting your search terms to the Irish Courts.

This resource, from the Open University, provide a detailed look at how to write a legal case note. It contains step by step guidance and examples.

This is an example of the standard format for a case law citation.  It comprises: 

R v Brown [1994] 1 AC 212

• The names of the parties - R v Brown
• The year - [1994]
• The volume - 1
• The Law Reporting series, abbreviated - AC
• Start page - 212

Some tips:

• R stands for Regina/Rex (the Queen/ King) in a criminal case
• Square or round brackets? It matters!
  Square brackets indicate that the year is essential to the citation.
  Round brackets indicate that it is the volume number that is necessary - the year is superfluous.
• Not sure what an abbreviation stands for? DON'T GUESS, use the Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations to look it up.

Search tip! If you search by citation using Lexis Library or Westlaw, you only need to include the section from the date to the page, e.g. 1994 1 AC 212

Good Overview

For a very readable general guide, see: Understanding UK Case Law, from SOAS, University of London. Among other things, it explains law report hierarchy, reported v unreported judgments, a breakdown of the layout of a case in a law report, etc., judicial treatment terms.

University of Oxford also provides a good general introduction to the issues of Law reports and precedent.

ICLR (Incorporated Council of Law Reporting) provides a short description of the various terms in judicial consideration or treatment

Below is a short video on the key principle of 'Stare Decisis' or judicial precedent. You must understand it, as it is the basis of judge-made law

Cases and Materials textbooks summarise the leading cases and key legisation, and provide an excellent starting point.  Use the Library Catalogue to find them in the library.  Examples include: