Library Guides: Law: Human Rights & Transitional Justice

Top sites for Human Rights sources of Information

WorldLii
Select international decisions for human rights courts and tribunals.
American Society for International Law
See Topics and Insights for information and documents on a range of international law subjects, including Human rights, Armed Conflict, Environmental Law and more.
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
One of the largest collections of more than 21,000 core human rights documents, International Human Rights Instruments, including 238 human rights treaties and other primary declarations, conventions and protocols.
Bayefsky.com - The United Nations Human Rights Treaties
Child Rights International Network (CRIN)
Website looking specifically at Rights of the Child. See the many sections for detailed information on Convention on the Rights of the Child, related research, documents and a Case Law database
Max Planck Yearbook of United Nations Law
This publication constitutes the first scholarly periodical to focus on activities of the United Nations in the field of international law
International Service for Human Rights
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime - Human Trafficking Knowledge Portal

Northern Ireland Human Rights

Also recommended

Featured site - United Nations

Much of the UN site will be useful, but the most useful will be in the 'Our Work' tab: Human Rights

See especially: Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights Which contains links to the core international human rights instruments, conventions, protocols and the bodies which oversee them.

See the 'Our Work' tab for other useful sections including:

Peace and Security - information on peace keeping, peace building, security, counter-terrorism etc.
International Law - links to the various International Criminal Courts, the International Court of Justice, and the Tribunals on Rwanda and the former Yugoslavia. See foot of page for links to key legal bodies including the UN Treaties database
Humanitarian Aid - links to the UN High Commission on Refugees with links to Refworld, with extensive information on refugee and asylum resources.

Find documents using the UN Document Symbol

Finding Documents in the UN Digital Library using the BASIC search

Find documents using the ADVANCED search

Featured site: European Convention on Human Rights

Council of Europe
The Council of Europe is distinct from the European Union, but all member of the EU are also members of the COE. See: Human Rights, Democracy and Rule of Law tabs for all aspects of HR within the European framework. The Explore dropdown menu gives access to the Treaty Office, where you can get the full text of Conventions, Protocols and Charters
European Convention on Human Rights
The primary text, associated documents and landmark cases relating to the various rights within the convention.
European Court of Human Rights
Select Caselaw - Judgment and Decisions for the HUDOC database of cases from 1961 onwards. Select Caselaw - Case Analysis for helpful case-law guides and reports.
HUDOC
Access to all judgments and decisions of the European Court of Human RIghts.
ECtHR - Case Law Analysis
This page has a series of useful detailed guides to the Case Law: by (a) individual Convention article or (b) topics that comprise multiple convention articles.
Human rights in culturally diverse societies (2016)

Top Transitional Justice sites

These links provide access to a wealth of high quality resources on the issue of Transitional Justice and Conflict Resolution. The top four links are to resources created and maintained by the University of Ulster, reflecting the extensive research undertaken by academics at this institution.

Transitional Justice Institute
Website of the Institute based at the University of Ulster. The site contains News and Profiles of the various members and information on publications of the Institute staff (with links to full text material where available) and a good links page
INCORE - International Conflict Research
Joint project of the University of Ulster and the United Nations University. Covering amongst other related topics, Governance and Transition. Access to full text of briefing documents, occasional and working papers, both in-house and many of those published in other journals or academic publications
CAIN - Conflict Archive on the Internet
Award-winning site containing detailed information relating to politics, political violence, and peacebuilding in Northern Ireland.
The Transitional Justice Peace Agreements Database
International Center for Transitional Justice
United States Institute of Peace
International Internet Bibliography of Transitional Justice
Transitional Justice Database Project - University of Wisconsin
Transitional Justice Bibliography - University of Wisconsin
Peacebuilding Initiative - Transitional Justice bibliography
Special Rapporteur on the promotion of truth, justice, reparation and guarantees of non-recurrence
Centre for the Study of Violence and Reconciliation
IDEA - International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance
Peacemaker's Trust
Institute for Justice and Reconciliation
Conciliation Resources
UN Rapporteur on transitional justice issues
Due Process of Law Foundation

Research Guides

Useful Blogs

See also the other recommended blogs under the Legal Subject: Public Law and Inquiries.

Law: Human Rights & Transitional Justice