Skip to Main Content

History: Internet Resources for American History

American history internet resources

Links to other institutions' web links and digital resources including secondary and primary source material.

American History Research Guide
American History Primary Sources
American History Library Guide
American History Timeline
The American South
American Studies Links - History
Antiwar and Radical History Project
Avalon Project
Biographical Dictionary of the US Congress
Civil War links
Digital Collections at Library of Congress
Documenting the American South
more... less...

Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
Internet Scout
FBI Records, the Vault
more... less...

See also the library's microfilm for FBI files on various individuals
History Net
Making of America
Martin Luther King Jr Research and Education Institute
National Archives of the United States of America
University of Pennsylvania History Collections
US History Org
US History and Historical Research Links
World wid eweb VIrtual Library
Veterans' History Project

Presidents of the United States
White House Presidents' Biographies
LBJ Presidential Library
Richard Nixon Presidential Library and Museum
Woodrow Wilson Papers
more... less...

Search for Woodrow Wilson Papers in the search box.

Australian War Memorial
Australia National Archives
FBI files on VIetnam Veterans Against the War
New Zealand and the Vietnam War
Oral History of Utah Peace Activists
Pacifica Radio/UCBerkeley Social Activism Sound Recording Project
more... less...

(Dated site with limited access)
Research in Military Records: Vietnam War
Rutgers Oral History Archives
Vietnam Era Oral History Project
Vietnam Veterans Memorial Fund
Vietnam Veterans of America
Vietnam War Bibliography
Vietnam War Ephemera Collection
Virtual Vietnam Archive
more... less...

Types of material include documents, photographs, slides, negatives, oral histories, artifacts, moving images, sound recordings, maps, and collection finding aids.
The Wars of Vietnam 1945-`975