The Library has a range of primary source material, some held on original paper copy, some held on microform (microfilm, microfiche or microcard), some published in book or journal form and some held electronically. Original sources, such as manuscripts, will be held in the Special Collections. This section of the guide will concentrate on sources held in book form or held on microform.
A complete list of all Coleraine Microcard, microfiche and microfilm is available for download from the box above.
NB Some Microcard material is now available online eg House of Commons Papers (see Library databases.)
| British and Irish History | |
| Calendars of State papers | DA25.E3... |
| Camden Series | DA20 |
| Irish political and radical newspapers of the twentieth century | Microfilm |
| British Cabinet papers, 1880-1916 : (CAB 37). Part 1, 1880-1905 | Microfilm |
|
Cabinet reports by Prime Ministers to the Crown,
|
Microfilm |
| Microfilm | |
|
Irish political and radical newspapers of the twentieth century (phase 1) : a guide |
Detailed list of titles in the collection, with dates, compiled by Colin S. Johnston |
| Labour Party. Annual Reports 1900-1967 | Microfilm 5 JN1129.L3A2 |
| Radical Periodicals of Great Britain | Microfilm 5 AP4.R33 |
| Reports of the Historical Manuscripts Commission | DA25.M... |
| Sir William Clarke Manuscripts 1640-1664 | Microfilm |
| Tanner Manuscripts | Microfilm |
| Thomason Tracts | Microfilm & online in EEBO see Historical Texts (library database) |
| Working women in Victorian Britain, 1850-1910 : the diaries and letters of Arthur J. Munby (1828-1910) and Hannah Cullwick (1833-1909) | Microfilm 5 HQ1593.M85 |
| International History | |
|
Russian Historical Sources 1846-1949 |
Microcard |
| American History | |
| American studies primary material on microfilm | |
| Official Publications | |
| England & Wales. Privy Council Registers 1631-1637 | Microfilm 5 DA25.C7 |
| Acts and Ordinances of the Interregnum 1642-1660 | KF21.F52 |
| A calendar of New Forest documents: the Fifteenth to the Seventeenth centuries. Edited by D.J.Stagg. | KF51.F78.C2 |
| Great Britain. Finance Accounts 1801-1966 | Microfilm 5 HJ40.A1 |
| Great Britain. Inland Revenue reports 1857-1966 | Microfilm 5 HJ40.R7 |
| Great Britain. National Debt Returns 1888-1966 | Microfilm 5 HJ40.A4 |
| Great Britain. Documents on British policy overseas | DA25.A4F195 |
| Proceedings of the Parliaments of Elizabeth I 1558-1581 | J301.K4 |
| Proceedings in parliament 1610 | J301.K45 |
| Proceedings in Parliament 1626 (Appendices & Indexes.) | J301.K45 1626 |
| Annual Report of the Poor Law Commissioners for England and Wales] : Vol. 1-11 | Microforms 5 HV241.G76 |
| Annual Reports of the Poor Law Commissioners | Oversize 4 HV241.G76 |
| Compendium of the Irish Poor Law by B.Banks. | KF215.E72.B3 |
| Compendium of the Irish Poor Law by A.Moore. | KF215.E58.M66 |
| The Justice of the Peace for Ireland by H. Humphreys | KF250.H85 |
| Northern Ireland Digest of Statistics. 1954-1967 | Microfilm 5 HA1147.N6.A22 |
| Northern Ireland Parliamentary Papers 1921-1972 | Microfilm (cabinet 7) |
| Northern Ireland Assembly Official Report 1973-1986 | J307.5.K3 |
| Northern Ireland Assembly Papers 1973-2007 | J307.5.K7 |
| Northern Ireland Departmental Papers 1972-2007 (Incomplete) | J307.5.K72 |
| Northern Ireland Draft Statutory Instruments. 1972-98 | J307.5.K53 |
| Ireland House of Commons. General Index, 1613-1800 (volume 2 only) | Microfilm 5 J307.3.M2 (cabinet 7) |
| Ireland. House of Lords. Journal 1634-1752 | Microfilm 5 J307.3.J2 (cabinet 7) |
| The Public General Acts passed by The Oireachtas of Saorstat Eireann 1922-1929 | KF421.A18 |
| Corpus Iuris Hibernici | 4 KF250.B5 |
| United Nations Publications 1846-1973 | Microcard |
| United States. Continental Congress 1775-1789 | Microfilm 5 J10.D74 |
| Foreign Relations of the United States | Search Library Catalogue to view individual titles |
The following are some Library databases which contain primary source material. Check the 'internet resources' tab for more primary source material which is available online.
|
Magee Library has a collection of historical documents relating to Great Britain and Ireland. These are mostly housed in the Special Collections Room on the ground floor.. Examples are listed below |
||
| RS96 | Historical and municipal documents of Ireland | |
| RS96 | Historical Manuscript Commission | |
| RS97 | Statute rolls of the parliament of Ireland...Henry VI | |
| Hiberniae leges et institutiones antique : ancient laws and institutes of Ireland series. |
||
|
16th and 17th century Calendar of state papers relating to England Scotland and Ireland |
||
| The Irish papers are: | ||
| Calendar of documents. Ireland | 1171-1301 & 1586-1588 | |
| Calendar of state papers. Ireland | 1509-1670 | |
| Calendar of state papers. Carew Mss | 1575-1624 | |
| Calendar of state papers. Ireland. Adventures for land | 1642-1569 | |
| Statutes of United Parliament | (1802-1826) | |
| Irish Collection
Facsimiles and edited reprints of many original documents are housed here. Access to the Collection is restricted to staff. The Keyword facility on the Library Catalogue will help you locate material. Below is a brief selection of some materials available in this resource. |
||
| Indexes to Irish wills / Thrift |
I Irish Collection CS482.P6
|
|
| Calendar of the Irish patent rolls of James I |
0 Irish Collection DA905.I757
|
|
| Register of Derry Cathredral (S. Columb's) 1642 - 1703 |
|
|
| The Inchiquin manuscripts |
|
|
| The Kenmare manuscripts |
Irish Collection CS499.K46K46
|
|
| Records of the General Synod of Ulster 1691 - 1820 | I BX9061.U46P92 | |
| Annals of Ireland | I DA930 | |
| Calendar of ancient records of Dublin | CD1118.D8G46 | |
| Census reports for Ireland, Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland | I HA1142 -1147 | |
| Leabhar Breac. Facsimile published 1876 | OI PB1397.L4 | |
| Presbyterian Church in Ireland. General Assembly minutes | ||
| Irish House of Commons Journals 1613-1800 | ||
| Irish House of Lords Journals 1727-1776 | ||
| Other items | ||
| Belfast Trades Council | 8 reels microfilm | |
| Carte Papers Calendars | Microfilm | |
| Dublin Trades Council MSS 12778-12780; 12780a; 12781-12785 | Microfilm | |
| Justice/Social Democrat 1884-1914 | Microfilm | |
| Red Cross Archive | Enquiries to AHSS subject team librarian | |
| William O'Brien papers | Microfilm | |
| Some of this material has been transferred to Coleraine campus. Check the Library Catalogue for location details. | |
| British and Irish History and Politics | |
| The anarchist press in Britain. Pt.1, The publications of Freedom press, 1928-1976 | |
|
The archives of the British Conservative and Unionist Party. Series 1, Pamphlets and leaflets |
|
|
Census of Ireland 1813 - 1911 |
|
| Northern Ireland political literature, 1968-1985. Phase 1, Periodicals | |
| Registrar General's statistical review of England and Wales / [microfilm]. 1921-1965 | |
| Women's Suffrage | |
|
Helen Blackburn pamphlet collection from Girton College, Cambridge |
|
| The social and political status of women in Britain : radical and reforming periodicals for and by women | |
| Radical and reforming periodicals for and by women. Series 1. Part 1. | |
| Radical and reforming periodicals for and by women. Series 1. Part 2 | |
The following directories give details of where to search for material. There are archives and libraries throughout Ireland and the UK with important collections that may assist you with research.
|
Irish history from 1700 : a guide to sources in the Public Record Office |
|
A guide to local history sources in the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland |
| Directory of Irish archives |
