At this initial stage we identify relevant literature through thorough database searching. You can search databases using your keywords and synonyms (and MeSH terms/Subject Terms if applicable).
For comprehensive coverage search at least three different databases, using Boolean Operators (AND OR) and use tools like truncation, wildcards and phrase searching to retrieve relevant literature. USearch and Google Scholar would NOT be considered appropriate for review searching.
Keep the search strategy consistent , applying date, language and journal article limiters- record the number of articles in your PRISMA, and export all articles to RefWorks for screening.
You can enter n as a total amount or individualise the databases' retrievals.
You can find a video explainer on search strategies here.
Citation chaining is a technique used to identify related papers that might be relevant to your review, but you did not identify in your linear, database search.
We can the databases Scopus or Web of Science to search reference lists and cited by/related to lists of relevant papers, that we have identified in the database search. You can also add papers identified in Google Scholar to this box.
Articles identified here might use slightly different terminology to your search strategy, however if you are identifying lots of relevant articles via this method, you may need to modify your initial search strategy.
Export your articles to RefWorks, so they can be included in the de-duplication process.
