The purpose of this page is to provide some guidance to the LHS Library Team until the "Publisher Agreements" content on the Library's Open Access Library Guide is updated. Please note that this page is not fully comprehensive and only covers those publisher agreements that we as a team are aware of. Unless you are 100% confident of your response, please do touch base with me ahead of sending a response to a user. Thank you, Joan.
General Points:
Library-OpenAccess@ulster.ac.uk
At time of writing, the address on the Open Access Library guide is the old one. However, this will still be redirected automatically (as of 22.2.2023).
Recipients of the Library-OpenAccess emails are John Kennedy, Liz Young and Ciaran Cregan. Liz primarily answers the queries.
Please note - the UKRI block grant can only be used with fully gold Open Access journal titles. It cannot be used with hybrid titles. The corresponding author must be a UU person and the work must be UKRI funded. More on UU affiliation: "teaching and research staff employed by or otherwise accredited to the Institution as well as students enrolled or accredited to the Institution".
JISC journal checker -
https://journalcheckertool.org/
Use UK Research and Innovation as the funder and University of Ulster as institution, plus the journal title. It will tell you if the journal complies with UKRI policy and so we could use the UKRI block grant funds to pay - as long as the research is UKRI funded of course.
Again, please note - Article Processing Charges for a hybrid journal are not eligible costs for the use of UKRI funds.
Information on the different CC licences is available at https://creativecommons.org/about/cclicenses/
Check if the publisher provides guidance around which licence to use with their journal titles. For example, I found this for Cambridge University Press: https://www.cambridge.org/core/services/open-access-policies/open-access-resources/creative-commons-licenses#:~:text=Creative%20Commons%20(CC)%20licenses%20play,view%2C%20download%20and%20distribute%20content.
Liz stated on 25-7-2--22:
"....with the aim of making our research as accessible as possible the most open CC licence is what would be preferred, ie CC-BY. It may depend on the funder (if there is one) as to what the requirements are.
The UKRI policy states that a CC-BY licence should be applied unless in exceptional circumstances".
I have noted today (25.5.2023) that Queen's states the following in relation to UKRI requirements at https://libguides.qub.ac.uk/openaccess/UKRI
On the same webpage QUB also includes information on exceptions:
The information on the Library's OA guide includes the following additional information for BMJ titles:
"The University has also now taken up the upgraded BMJ deal which includes the 'Publish' option in funded (UKRI) Gold titles; non-funded hybrid journals; and non-Funded Gold titles in addition to what was previously available".
You can use the BMJ Institution and Journal Checker webpage to confirm access. Go to https://authors.bmj.com/open-access-unitedkingdom/ and scroll towards the bottom of the screen. See recording: https://ulster.cloud.panopto.eu/Panopto/Pages/Viewer.aspx?id=74d69d22-0e05-4028-b155-afb0010034f7
BMJ Gold titles:
BMJ Gold titles are listed at BMJ fully open access journals - BMJ Author Hub
APCs for Gold titles are covered.
APCs for BMJ Open will be covered by our new publisher agreement. Confirmation from Liz on 9.2.2023 of the following:
"...we took up all the extra publishing options with BMJ last year and this year so I think everything will be covered, both gold and hybrid funded and unfunded".
BMJ Open is a Gold title.
BMJ Hybrid titles:
APCs for Hybrid titles are covered in the agreement. These hybrid titles are listed at BMJ hybrid journals - BMJ Author Hub
MDPI - https://www.mdpi.com/
We have no publisher agreement in place for MDPI journal titles. The only exception for the author would be if the UKRI block grant could be used, mindful of the criteria required here.
Journal specific APCs are listed at https://www.mdpi.com/apc
PLOS - https://plos.org/
We have an agreement for unlimited publishing in the following PLOS journals as part of the JISC 2021- 2023 agreement:
PLOS Computational Biology, PLOS Genetics, PLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases, PLOS ONE and PLOS Pathogens, and PLOS Digital Health.
ALSO:
PLOS Climate, PLOS Global Public Health, and/or PLOS Water.
ALSO:
PLOS Biology, PLOS Medicine, and PLOS Sustainability and Transformation.
This means that the APCs will be paid for these titles.
Note from Joan - From the email correspondence with Liz/PLOS our Library is involved in 3 fee models:
Flat Fee - this covers the cost of unlimited publishing opportunities (pending peer review) for our authors in the following PLOS titles: PLOS Computational Biology, PLOS Digital Health, PLOS Genetics, PLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases, PLOS ONE, and PLOS Pathogens.
Liz has stated (as of 20.12.2022):
"We are in a read and publish agreement with Elsevier that runs to 31 December 2024. Publishing in "hybrid" journals will be covered under the deal at no cost to the author, but the agreement does not cover fully gold journals and there will be a charge to publish in these (there may be a discount). Unless the corresponding author is UKRI-funded there is not a central fund available to cover costs".
Elsevier uses the terminology "Fully Open Access" to refer to "Gold Open Access" titles:
Taken from https://www.elsevier.com/en-gb/open-access
Elsevier provide some guidance on the process of publishing through the Jisc agreement here https://www.elsevier.com/open-access/agreements/jisc
Check for Hybrid titles here: https://agreements.journals.elsevier.com/jisc?
N.B. If the title is not hybrid, you won't be able to find it from the link above.
Check for Gold Open Access titles here: https://www.sciencedirect.com/browse/journals-and-books?contentType=JL&accessType=openAccess&acceptsSubmissions=true
An example of a gold open access title from Elsevier is Journal of Functional Foods (Print ISSN: 1756-4646; Online ISSN: 2214-9414).
Another example of a gold open access title from Elsevier is Biofilm (Online ISSN: 2590-2075).
Elsevier have an useful tool which will match a paper to one of their journal titles by submitting the abstract of the paper: https://journalfinder.elsevier.com/
We have no publisher agreement with BMC. Authors would have to pay the APC. The only exception for the author would be if the UKRI block grant could be used, mindful of the criteria required here.
The APC for BMC titles vary per title. See https://www.biomedcentral.com/about/publication-costs-and-funding
Please view recording at https://ulster.cloud.panopto.eu/Panopto/Pages/Viewer.aspx?id=7d39f4f0-e8ca-4e1c-8566-afb100f3faf5
The grace access period for SAGE has been extended to 31 March 2023 for both the read and publish elements. SAGE will be accepting OA articles for publication until this date - confirmed with Liz on 23.2.2023
***Queried again with Liz on 09/11/2023 - deal is now running until December 2024*** KC
As such, we can still use the information on our Open Access guide about Sage at https://guides.library.ulster.ac.uk/openaccess/publishers
Subscription journals: Corresponding authors publishing an article in 900+ subscription journals in the current SAGE Premier package, as well as in the IMechE Journal Collection and the Royal Society of Medicine Collection, which offer hybrid open access publishing (SAGE Choice) can be published open access, free of charge. Charges other than the author article process charge (APC) may still apply, please refer to individual journal submission guidelines.
Gold open access journals: Corresponding authors publishing an article in a gold open access journal are also entitled to a 20% discount on the prevailing article processing charge (APC) for that journal. Click here for the participating Gold journal title list.
Example 1 of checking a Sage title: https://ulster.cloud.panopto.eu/Panopto/Pages/Viewer.aspx?id=779570a2-c032-4784-b17e-afb20109a5c5
Example 2 of checking a Sage title: https://ulster.cloud.panopto.eu/Panopto/Pages/Viewer.aspx?id=2de6e3c8-5ec6-44b5-9bf8-afb2010ae659
Please note - I have found a few titles which are not on either the gold or the Open Choice list. Please be aware of this.
We are part of a Jisc agreement with Wiley.
Authors affiliated with UK institutions participating in Wiley’s Jisc agreement may publish primary research and review articles in any of Wiley's and Hindawi's fully gold open access journals and Wiley’s hybrid (subscription-based) journals which offer open access with no further open access costs to the author.
See this recording for checking titles: https://ulster.cloud.panopto.eu/Panopto/Pages/Viewer.aspx?id=9f5841fe-17ca-4e2f-96da-afb2011d3deb
We are part of a Jisc agreement with Taylor and Francis. The information on our Library Open Access guide is correct as per:
Corresponding authors affiliated with participating institutions in the UK, including Ulster, are now eligible to publish open access (OA) in Taylor & Francis and Routledge Open Select (hybrid) journals at no cost to themselves.
This transitional agreement between Taylor & Francis Group and the JISC consortium combines continued access to subscription articles with the opportunity to publish OA in around 2,300 Open Select titles.
The link to the list of Open Select titles is available at https://www.tandfonline.com/openaccess/openselect
Please note - even if the journal is listed there are conditions as per below:
To be eligible, articles must:
Also:
JISC and Taylor & Francis have agreed a maximum number of open access articles to be published for each year of this partnership. Please be aware that this limit might therefore be reached before the end of a year, at which point the open access publishing element of the agreement will be paused until the beginning of the following year. However, even if the article allocation is reached, individual institutions may still have funds to continue supporting open access publishing. Please talk to your library for further details. JA note - we would need to check with Liz if the quota had been reached.
Please see recording for example of checking a Taylor and Francis title - https://ulster.cloud.panopto.eu/Panopto/Pages/Viewer.aspx?id=25048fb3-b183-43a9-ae8a-afb800c73434
Taylor & Francis also offer a suggest a journal service. You can upload the abstract to a paper and they will suggest appropriate T&F journals to consider publishing in: https://authorservices.taylorandfrancis.com/publishing-your-research/choosing-a-journal/journal-suggester/?_gl=1*1ykyhs6*_ga*MTM1MDA4MDIwNi4xNjg4MDM0MjQw*_ga_0HYE8YG0M6*MTcxNDQ3NjMzOC4yMC4wLjE3MTQ0NzYzMzkuMC4wLjA.*_gcl_au*Nzk4MjkyMTIyLjE3MTQ0NzYzMzg.&_ga=2.36785184.1247527385.1714476338-1350080206.1688034240
Liz sent the response below to an academic enquiring about the Journal of Emergency Management; dated 9.5.2023
|
Journal of Emergency Management does not fall within any of the publisher agreements in which we currently participate and they are not very upfront about who is the publisher on their website - I'm not familiar with Weston Medical Publishers - nor do they seem to indicate where their content is indexed/abstracted. They are quoting a charge of $2,250-$2,750 for non-profit institutions to publish an article open access. As we have no agreement in place for this journal, the charge would have to be paid, however the only central funds we have available are from the UKRI Open Access Block Grant. I'm guessing that an MSc student would not be eligible for this.
I did check out Journal of Emergency Management in the Jisc Journal Checker at https://journalcheckertool.org/ in relation to compliance with UKRI OA policy and in fact it recommends checking with an alternative journal.
We do have agreements with publishers such as those below, where open access publishing costs would in most cases be covered.
BMJ Cambridge University Press Elsevier (hybrid journals) - list here https://agreements.journals.elsevier.com/jisc. Oxford University Press Sage Springer Taylor & Francis
and others as in the list in our open access guide https://guides.library.ulster.ac.uk/openaccess/publishers - the agreements listed here are currently in operation. |
Liz provided the following response on 13.3.2023:
|
We don't currently subscribe to this agreement, though worth looking at it. At a quick check through Prenax, we don't already subscribe to any of the American Physiological Society journals. I checked the Jisc journal checker tool https://journalcheckertool.org/ which shows that this title would not be eligible for UKRI funds as it is a hybrid title and hybrid titles are not eligible costs under UKRI. |
I had also noted the following:
|
I have checked the R&P deal for APS and we are not listed. See https://journals.physiology.org/librarians.read-publish-join.institutions There is no list of institutions displayed on the JISC page at https://subscriptionsmanager.jisc.ac.uk/catalogue/2884. |
I have checked their web site and there is no R&P deal available at https://cdnsciencepub.com/journal/apnm/publication-fees. In addition, we are not a CRKN subscriber institution.
Liz has also noted (as of Mon 13/03/2023):
" As above, this is a hybrid journal and so is ineligible for UKRI funding to pay APCs. We are not in any publishing agreement with Canadian Science Publishing"
We have no agreement with Frontiers.
Liz has noted the following, as of 11th March 2023.
"I've looked at the Frontiers Jisc agreement previously and it does not cover publishing in the same way as other deals, it just provides a simplified route to payment and there is no limit on overall cost. Not really helpful for us as it stands.
Frontiers in Physiology is a fully gold OA journal so JOE BLOGG would need to be corresponding author and be UKRI funded to be eligible for UKRI block grant funds to cover publishing here. There would be an invoice to pay but we could pay it."
We have no agree with Wolters Kluwer.
Liz has noted the following (on 11th March 2023):
"There is a restricted pilot read & publish agreement with Wolters Kluwer via Jisc. It offers a pilot read and publish agreement for the complete Total Access collection of journal titles for named pilot institutions. We would have to subscribe to the WK total access collection, no idea of cost. May be too late to participate but worth investigating".
Updated information provided by Mary Rose Holman as of 28th March 2023.
Details:
The Library has signed up to the American Chemical Society Journals 2022-2024 deal brokered by Jisc Collections. This 2022-24 Transitional Agreement with the ACS will enable eligible author to publish their research in any of the ACS titles. This unlimited Read and Publish agreement includes publishing in all hybrid and fully OA titles.
Here are some links that may be of interest.
Author workflow, publication process and support materials overview: https://acsopenscience.org/how-to-publish-open-access/
Author facing webpage: https://publish.acs.org/publish/
The ACS Publications Catalogue gives detailed information on individual journals and there are links to journal homepages on the ACS Publications website.
Eligible Authors:
Corresponding authors whose articles are accepted by ACS qualify to have their articles published under the ACS Read & Publish Program ("R&P Program") for the respective journal article, if all of the following conditions are met at the time of submission of the manuscript:
Eligible articles:
All research articles in all ACS journals, including ACS Omega, JACS Au, the ACS Au collection, and all ACS hybrid journals.
Instructions:
Authors should identify themselves as affiliated to Ulster University and use their university email address during submission. Emails from ACS will provide a link to the Copyright Clearance Center as part of the order process, where they can request funding for their paper through Ulster. Click the button to "Seek funding from Ulster University".