If you are unable to find suitable material in the Library's collection, you may wish to investigate the holdings at other institutions. You may be able to request any useful material via the Document Delivery Service
You can find details of Ulster dissertations using the library catalogue. If a thesis is held at another campus, you may request it using the Inter-Campus Loans service. When it arrives, the thesis will be for consultation in the library only.
You may also be interested in dissertations submitted at other institutions. Below are some useful links to information or (in some cases) access to full text theses.
|
If the book you need isn't in the Library catalogue, then we may be able to request a copy of the book using our Document Delivery Service. |
|
SCONUL Access is a co-operative venture between most of the higher education libraries of the UK and Ireland. It enables staff and eligible students to borrow material from other libraries. If you plan to visit a university library in the Republic of Ireland, you may wish to consider the ALCID Scheme. Don't forget that if the institution you intend to visit is part of the eduroam service, you will be able to acess your Ulster resources via your laptop or device using the wifi service of the institution you are visiting. Ensure you have already set up your eduroam account before you visit. |
The recommended internet search engine for journal articles is Google Scholar. This limits results to higher quality resources.
Want to check if the Library can provide full text? Click Settings and Library links. Search for University of Ulster and save your preferences. That way you will see links to full-text Ulster links from within our e-journal collection in your search results.
However, even though Google Scholar is a very useful source, we recommend you concentrate your legal research on the Library databases such as Westlaw, HeinOnline or LexisLibrary.
|
Check the search symbols and operators (truncation, wildcards, adjacency / proximity searching) used by the most heavily used databases. Remember that the 'Help' section of any database will help you identify the appropriate search functions. |
|
|
Legal databases are the best place to search for journal articles on a legal topic. The most important journals databases are listed below: |
Use the Electronic Journals link to find out if the Library has a specific e-journal.
Searching Electronic Journals.
If Ulster University has the Journal online, we will provide:
 |
Looking for a few journal articles about your research topic? USearch is a useful place to start.
|
|
USearch contains journal articles indexed by HeinOnline and Westlaw UK's Legal Journals Index. As the Legal Journals Index also references material from Lexis Library, it is an excellent beginning for any legal query. USearch provides a very broad range of results and will include material from other jurisdictions and non-legal topics, so if you are finding too many irrelevant results, you may prefer to use the more specific legal filters and options available within Westlaw UK. |
|
Find out more about Open Access and publishing your work in the library's Open Access Guide.
Sign up for email alerts and rss feeds to the latest contents pages for your key jounals. Choose from 1,000's of journals across the various subject areas.
Most databases have a function that will enable you to save searches and create alerts, all you need to do is create a personal account within each resource. Some databases such as Web of Science and Scopus will also allow you to to set up citation alerts, which will notify you when an article you have tagged has been cited by another paper. For more information on how to do this look at the Help Guides for each database or contact your Librarian.
Most journals and publishers (e.g. Elsevier ScienceDirect, Sage Journals, Taylor and Francis, Wiley etc,) offer alerting services. You can usually choose to recieve alerts or rss feeds based on the table of contents or subject area selection.
Academic staff and researchers at the University record their research output on the University's Institutional Repository. See particularly: