Art and Design: Animation

Read about the history of this famous studio which created Wallace and Gromit, the characters which they have created, news of new animations due for release and much more

This organisation is dedicated to the generation and dissemination of information on computer graphics and interactive techniques

This is a guide to animation from the About, Inc. company. The site features articles about different types of computer animation, including guides to drawing, information about animation education and software reviews. The site is enriched links to other Internet resources related to animation, covering newsgroups, employment, collections, schools and hints & tips

This is an open peer-reviewed ejournal published by the Society for Animation Studies, which covers animation history and theory.

This event is held every two years. The site has details of the competitors, winners, and 7 DVD show-reels from previous BAA awards. This will be a useful website for those seeking a quick guide to the best of British animation produced during recent years.

This site aims to provide information on the latest news and trends in animation. It covers a wide range of topics including contemporary and classic animation, CGI, advertising, design, anime and industry/business news.

This is the official web site of Chuck Jones, animation director of some of Warner Bros.' most famous cartoons, such as Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck, Porky Pig, Road Runner and Wile E. Coyote. The site provides a history and profile of Chuck Jones, a filmography (searchable by year or title), and a section containing his art, which includes examples of his production cells, fine art, drawings and sculptures.

This company specialises in computer generated 3D animation. The site provides brief information about the company's work in feature films, video/dvd, music, tv and animation, with details of current work. Past work includes Antz, Budweiser commercials and Shrek.

This site displays digital artworks by many artists, covering various forms such as "3-D rendered art, fractals, enhanced photography, animation, mixed media, computer-painted and -drawn art, etc. You can also read reviews, critiques, essays and articles on computer art.

Based in Bournemouth University, this Centre has pioneered undergraduate and postgraduate courses in computer visualisation and animation, conducted research of international significance and pioneered the production of computer animated simulation rides in the UK. View recent student projects.

Famous for creating Toy Story, which was the first ever feature-length computer animated film. The website provides a profile of the studio and its artists. There are also details, stills and trailers from its short films and animated features (for which QuickTime is required), such as Toy Story, Finding Nemo, and Wall-E. The website also describes the computer animation process and the technology used in its filmmaking, and the 'artist's corner' section provides profiles, interviews, and examples of the work of the creative staff at Pixar.

Visual archive & image collections covering art & design, fashion, engineering, historical resources, printed ephemera and much more