Skip to Main Content

Art and Design: Using eBooks

Access to library information on the topics of art and design, including books, journals, library databases, selected web sites and referencing.

Introduction to eBook use

The library provides access to eBooks in two main ways:

  • Individual eBooks which are accessed via the library catalogue.
  • eBooks which are part of a specific subject collection or database.  These ebooks are not usually listed in the library catalogue and must be searched for and accessed separately in the individual host database.  Information on these subject collections is given in the eBook Collections in Databases section.

    Depending on the publisher licence, some eBooks allow multiple users but others limit access to just one viewer at a time.  If you are trying to access an ebook and you get an "in use" message, you will need to try again later.

    All of the books in the library catalogue can be read online.  Some of them can also be downloaded for a limited time period for use offline, but if you have a reliable internet connection, the read online option is preferable.
 undefined

Finding eBooks on the library catalogue

Go to the Library Catalogue and search for books in the usual way, using keywords, title and/or author.

From the Results screen, click on the eBooks link in the Refine Your Search column to limit your results to those available in eBook format .

From the results provided choose the book you want to read and click on the title.  As with print books we often retain more than one edition of an eBook.  Always choose the most recent edition but, if it is in use by another user, you may be able to use an earlier edition.

Select the Click here to read this e-book link.  The name of the supplier may also be included in the link.

Clicking on that link will then open a new window which will vary depending on the supplier. 

We have two main suppliers with varying arrangements for online reading, downloading, printing and copying - Dawson and Ebook Central. Information on accessing eBooks from these suppliers are available in specific sections of this page.

This short video will show you how to find and access an eBook from the Library Catalogue.

 

eBook Collections in Databases

The Library subscribes to a large number of eBook collections in many subject areas.

Using eBooks on different devices

In general:

to read eBooks, you will need:

  • to have access to the internet to read eBooks in an online reader, although you can also download some eBooks for offline reading
  • an up-to-date internet browser, such as Microsoft Edge, Chrome or Firefox.
  • an up-to-date version of Adobe Reader, as most e-Books use pdf files (this is the format in which the book is displayed). If you do not have this you can download it for free.

to download eBooks, you will need:

In order to use any of these download services you will need to create an Adobe ID and enter it when instructed.

Dawson

Read Online, Print & Download Sections
With books provided by Dawson the Click here to read this Dawson e-book link in the Library Catalogue will bring you to the initial dawsonera screen with a brief description of the book.  A hyperlinked Table of Contents at the bottom of this screen will allow you to click into a particular section or chapter immediately within the online reader.

 

Below the description you will usually see the two links on the right, Download ebook and Read online. There will be no download link if that option is not available. Remember that you can’t print and copy from a downloaded eBook.  This can only be done from within the online reader.

If reading online, clicking on the Actions button will display a dropdown menu showing the Copy and Print functions,  with limits. Please note that these can vary depending on the title and publisher permissions.  Pages can only be printed one at a time.  The Download option is also available from this drop down menu.

Download in full
Clicking on the Download ebook link will bring up a Download ebook box where you can choose the length of loan (1-2 days) and select your reader. (Please note, some publishers pre-set the loan period at 12 hours).  The resulting file can be saved to a PC, external data storage device or uploaded to OneDrive. The file will become inaccessible when the loan period expires but you may be able to download the file again.  There is a separate link on the download box for iPhone and iPad users. 

Click here to view accessing and using a Dawson eBook from within our Library Catalogue.

Full instructions on using the online reader and downloading to Android and iOS devices, with videos, can be found here.

Ebook Central

Read Online, Print & Download Sections
With books provided by Ebook Central,  the Click here to access this electronic resource link in the Library Catalogue will bring you to the book details screen where you will see Availability options, for example:

Please note, for some eBooks the Full Download option will not be available. 

Click Online Reading to open the book in the Ebook Central Reader.  When reading a title in the Ebook Central Reader, you can navigate using the table of contents on the left, scroll bar on the right or page options at the top.  The tool bar above the eBook also provides functions including copy and print. Copy and Print allowances are displayed next to the Availability options as illustrated above.

Download in full to personal computer/laptop
Ebook Central eBooks can be downloaded to computers, tablets, and phones. Download options are located on the initial details page (Full Download link and PDF Chapter Downloads link) and on the Download tabs in the Ebook Central Reader.  They are read via Adobe Digital Editions (ADE). ADE is available on the student network.

Click on a Download option.

Next answer the onscreen questions about your device/computer.

You will be prompted to download Abobe Digital Editions (if you haven't already done so).

Click on Download:

Click here to view accessing and using an eBook from Ebook Central from our Library Catalogue.

Further help on Reading Online and Downloading can be accessed from the Proquest Ebook Central LibGuide.