Art and Design: History and Theory of Art

A comprehensive resource for artists. Includes information on professional practice, careers, business and provides free access to the Artists Development Toolkit.

Designed to help users to locate art, architecture and design publications, plus related materials. The service currently consists of a database of periodical titles and a related directory of art library resources in general

Professor Chris Witcombe of the Art department at Sweet Briar College has perhaps the best organized gateway to art history sites on the Web. His directory is full of useful and regularly updated links and is divided into the following categories: Prehistoric Art, Ancient Near East, Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece, Ancient Rome, Art in Early Europe, 15th-Century Renaissance Art, 16th-Century Renaissance Art, 17th-Century Baroque Art, Baroque Art, 18th-Century Art, 19th-Century Art, 20th-Century Art, 21st-Century Art and Prints & Photography. He also includes a list of museums and galleries and research resources

This site focuses is on fine art and sculpture with references only to sites where artists' work can be viewed online. Their mission is to become the definitive and most effective guide to museum-quality fine art on the Internet.

Established in 1973, Audio Arts was a cassette-based audio magazine. It provided a dedicated space for artists and art-world professionals to speak about their work in a free and unmediated way. Now available in digital form, this archive represents the most comprehensive sound archive devoted to art and artists in the world, featuring exclusive contributions from more than 900 individual artists including Joseph Beuys, Ian Breakwell, Tracey Emin and Andy Warhol.

A collection of useful websites for art and architecture chosen by the British Library

The Courtauld Institute of Art is an institute for teaching and research in the history of art and conservation. The website provides information about: undergraduate and postgraduate courses; the research sections of the institute; associated research projects; the book library and photographic libraries (including access to the book library's online catalogue); short courses and study programmes; the postgraduate journal; and titles of MA dissertations and recently completed PhDs. The 'what's on' section includes details of talks, conferences and other events, and the 'collections' section covers the Courtauld Institute of Art Gallery and other collections.

The Getty Research Portal™ is a free online search platform providing worldwide access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a range of institutions. This multilingual and multicultural union catalog affords art historians and other researchers the ability to search and download complete digital copies of publications devoted to art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.

Excellent resource for the study of international contemporary art and artists.

Outstanding resource for research on many art historical periods including ancient Egypt artifacts, Greek and Roman art, Byzantine, Renaissance, Asian and Central Asian art, 19th Century art movements, fashion, weaponry, and many other topics up to the early 20th century.

Produced by the School of Art and Design at the University of Michigan, this site covers annotated links to websites on art history departments in the US and abroad; research resources on African, Asian and American studies, archaeology, art history, Islam, photography and artistic styles; image collections; online exhibitions; art museums; and bibliographies, databases and library catalogues.

The National Art Library is a major public reference library, as well as being the Victoria and Albert Museum's curatorial department for the art, craft and design of the book. The online catalogue provides information about all forms of material held by the Library, both the documentary collections of literature about the arts and design, and the material, both historic and contemporary, which now forms part of the V&A Word and Image department's curatorial collections.

Listings from galleries in the U.K. and Ireland. Includes links to individual galleries, a description of the exhibitions and some images. Updated on the first day of each month.

This is a free ejournal published by the Association of Historians of Nineteenth-Century Art (AHNCA), and edited by professionals and scholars in nineteenth-century art. It encompasses a range of historical and theoretical traditions, adopting a global vision, and a chronology that stretches from the American and French revolutions to the beginning of the First World War.

Founded in 1846 "for the increase and diffusion of knowledge among men", following the bequest of British Scientist James Smithson, today, the Smithsonian is committed to understanding and exploring American national identity through history and heritage. The vast Smithsonian website provides information and online features on the wide-range of elements which make up the Smithsonian. This includes links to online versions of featured and permanent exhibitions.

Excellent collection of material about art and artists in the US from multiple national collections housed at the Smithsonian Institute.

This site covers the family of galleries that house the national collection of British art from the sixteenth century to the present day, including the Turner Bequest, and the national collection of international modern art: Tate Modern at Bankside, London; Tate Britain at Millbank, London; Tate Liverpool; and Tate St Ives. The site provides information on each gallery, and a tremendous depth of content (such as access to the Tate Learning and audio and video material, and the Tate's art collections including 50,000 images).

This online image database contains works and images from the V&A collections, covering objects including "ceramics, fashion, furniture, glass, metalwork, paintings, photographs, prints, sculpture and textiles". Items selected cover both those used in recent publications and less well known items and objects that, for various reasons, cannot be displayed permanently. The database can be searched by keyword, or using advanced features to search by object name, date, techniques, artist, place or museum number. Results provide high-quality images, accompanied by basic details and a description.