Art and Design: Furniture

This resource dedicated to architecture and design. There is information on products, design materials, current architectural design and design history. The product catalogue can be browsed by product group, manufacturer or designer, and includes interior and exterior furnishings, lightings and accessories. The online design museum is arranged by product group, designer or auction house and are accompanied by descriptive information, estimated prices and current auction results.

This is a good resource for modern, post-modern and contemporary design of the 20th-21st centuries. You'll find searchable indexes on designers and producers, on furniture, lighting, dinnerware, accessories, glass, ceramic, plastic, wood and metal ware. It also provides an excellent categorised links section plus virtual exhibitions, essays on design issues, an events calendar and a design discussion forum.

Look up the latest facts and figures on design. Browse information from expert authors on design disciplines, issues and methods. And dip into learning resources, articles and podcasts. Keep up-to-date with design issues driving social and economic change.

The Design Museum in London focuses on industrial design, in particular mass-produced items. In the Design at the Design Museum section read biographies and short interviews with a range of contemporary designers.

The organisation exists to promote the excellence of British design by selecting and promoting the best designers working in this country and enabling you to contact them direct.

This is a product design company is based in the Netherlands and included the work of over a hundred designers in the following categories: lighting; furniture; tabletop; kitchen; bathroom; accessory; and various. The site contains images and information on all products from the Droog collection, news on current and upcoming Droog exhibits, and links to articles written about Droog.

This museum contains a specialist collection of English furniture and decorative arts in a chronological series of period rooms spanning the past 400 years.

This is one of the UK's leading contemporary furniture producers, showcasing new production and material techniques in their products. The website provides access to an online catalogue of the company's latest products, complete with colour photographs, technical and designer information for each product. There are downloadable catalogues, price lists and technical guides, photography and assembly instructions

This is the official web site of French, contemporary designer Philippe Starck. The menu features architecture and interiors, design drawings, industrial design, furniture, high-tech design, lamps, foodstuffs, clothes, luggage, bathroom, vehicles, urban furniture and good goods. There are links to producers' websites such as Alessi, Cassina and Fossil, and biographical information on Starck, including a listing of his awards.