Special Collections and Rare Books: Richardson Collection

Location: Coleraine

This is a collection of material from the library of J. Lionel Richardson (1890-1961), an eminent daffodil breeder from County Waterford in Ireland.

The collection includes Richardson Daffodil Stock Books, Cross Books and Sales Books from the 1920s through to the 1960s as well as “Gold Medal Daffodils” catalogues from the 1920s to the 1970s*. Details of the collection are contained in the lists below.

For details on accessing the collection, see Visiting Special Collections.

*Please note, some years are missing from the collection.

The Richardson Collection is not open for general use.  All requests to consult the collection should be made to the Special Collections team by email.

Richardson’s catalogues and associated material on the Dafflibrary website:

• J. Lionel Richardson Gold Medal Daffodils,  Waterford, Ireland, 1931 – 1940
• J. Lionel Richardson Gold Medal Daffodils, Waterford, Ireland; 1941 – 1963
• Mrs. J. Lionel Richardson, Waterford, Ireland; 1964 – 1970  
• Mrs. J. Lionel Richardson, Waterford, Ireland; 1971 – 1977 

In addition there are Guy Wilson Daffodil Catalogues, after whom the Coleraine Daffodil Garden is named:

• Guy L. Wilson, 1930 – 1939, Broughshane, Northern Ireland, UK
• Guy L. Wilson, Broughshane, Northern Ireland, UK, 1941 – 1967

There are also a number of other NI Daffodil producer catalogues available here:

Catalogues from 1901 - 1940

• Slieve Donard Nursery, 1932, Northern Ireland

Catalogues from 1941 - 1970

• Ballydorn Bulb Farm, 1956 – 1970, Northern Ireland
• Carncairn Daffodils, 1969 – 1970, Northern Ireland
• W. J. Dunlop, 1947 – 1970, Northern Ireland

Catalogues from 1971 - 2000

• Ballydorn Bulb Farm, Northern Ireland, 1971 – 2000
• Carncairn Daffodils,1971 – 2000, Northern Ireland
• Brian Duncan Daffodils, Omagh, Northern Ireland, UK 1989 – 2000
• W. J. Dunlop, 1971 – 1972, Northern Ireland, UK
• Rathowen Daffodils, 1972 – 1988, Northern Ireland
• Tyrone Daffodils, 1989, 1990, 1991, Northern Ireland

Catalogues from 2001 to the present

• Carncairn Daffodils, Northern Ireland, 2001 – 2003
• Brian Duncan Daffodils, Omagh, Northern Ireland
• Esker Farm Daffodils, Northern Ireland, 2016, 2017, 2018
• Ringhaddy Daffodils, Killinchy, Northern Ireland 2013 – 2016